Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What is the input offset voltage in an opamp?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sam khan

Member level 1
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
35
Helped
10
Reputation
20
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,508
op amp

what is input offset voltage
 

watertreader

Full Member level 3
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
174
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
2,560
Re: op amp

For an op-amp in a practical settings, if we tie the 2 input terminals to ground, we will still obtain a finite dc voltage exist at the output. This finite dc voltage is known as the input offset voltage. This arises due to the mismatches in the input differential stage within the op amp package itself and is classified as the DC imperfection of the op amp


Op amp output can be brought back to zero level by applying dc voltages of equal magnitude but opposite polarity

Hope it helps! I think you can also check out some electronics books...
 

    sam khan

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

yjkwon57

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 31, 2004
Messages
218
Helped
24
Reputation
48
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,808
Re: op amp

Input offset voltage is the voltages aplied to the inputs of OP amp so as to take out zero voltage from the output of it. Normally, it is less than 1 mV, a noise level.
 

    sam khan

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

ender84567

Member level 4
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
78
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,659
Re: op amp

it is caused due to the pair of transitors in an opamps input stage (look at a transitor level model, the 741 is readily available) are not matched. it can be modeled with a battery in pspice on top of the standard modelsim model.
 

    sam khan

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

Electronica

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
119
Helped
10
Reputation
20
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,739
op amp

even if the inputs are given 0V ,then even a volatge appears this is called offset voltage
 

    sam khan

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

hussain_kiet

Full Member level 5
Joined
Mar 15, 2007
Messages
260
Helped
45
Reputation
90
Reaction score
28
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Karachi, Pakistan
Activity points
2,802
Re: op amp

input offset voltages are basically applied at the input of an op amp to eliminate the noise generated internally at the output...
even if there is no input ie vin=0v still there exist some voltages in the form of noise at the output called output offset voltages...
input offset voltages are equal in magnitude and 180° out of phase of output offset voltages.....
 

    sam khan

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

smith123

Member level 5
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
94
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,664
op amp

THE input offset voltages are basically applied at the input of an op amp to eliminate the noise generated internally at the output...
 

    sam khan

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

suvendu

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
167
Helped
16
Reputation
32
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,121
op amp

The voltages aplied to the inputs of OPAMP so as to get zero o/p voltage from the output terminals.
 

    sam khan

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top