Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What is the difference between bootloader and programmer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lcs81

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
tomcu

HI all,

I am new to PIC mcu. However, i do know some basic as shown as following diagram.

My question are, what is the different between bootloader and programmer?
Are they the same?

Is bootloader also consider a ICSP?

The "software for communication" is to put the hex code to mcu via computer and the hardware is the programmer. my question is, how can we use hyperterminal to do this?

at last, is the diagram genral to all MCU?

Thanks

Re: New toMCU (programmer)

I'll try to answer your questions.

My question are, what is the different between bootloader and programmer?
Are they the same?

Bootloader and Conventional Programmer are not the same in many ways. Here are some differences:
1. Hardware - in bootloader you only need to convert the serial level from RS232 to TTL level. Conventional programmer needs more than this.
2. Software - software are different from one another.
3. Interface - in bootloader you only need to control a minimal of two pins the tx and rx (hardware uart), wherein in programmer you need data, clock, vdd and vpp.
4. Device - there are only few device supported by bootloader (device with built in uart)

Is bootloader also consider a ICSP?

Bootloader can be used to program device while it is in the cuircuit.

The "software for communication" is to put the hex code to mcu via computer and the hardware is the programmer. my question is, how can we use hyperterminal to do this?