Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What does "wrapper" stand for ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ajhsu

Full Member level 4
Joined
Apr 4, 2004
Messages
204
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,701
I saw a block named "wrapper" in the chip system diagram.
Could someone advise what does it mean ?
Thanks.
 

Thomson

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Messages
181
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,400
You can take it as a bridge which connects two different interfaces! Of course, the concept of bridge doesn't just connect two different interfaces, e.g. PCI bridge.

A wrapper is sometimes just to refer to one smaller block used to connect the current inferface to the new interface so that these two different interfaces can be commnunicated now! This ofter happens when you buy a off-the-shelf IP that is not compatible with your current bus! For example, one Wishbone interface and one AHB interface!

When the Wrapper is rather robust/functional/configurable, now it can be conceived of it as a Birdge, more suitble!


Maybe helpful!

Thomson
 

manu_leo

Member level 1
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Messages
40
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Location
bangalore
Activity points
1,573
Wrapper is something which helps in interfacing,

For eg, i need to do memBIST, in that case i need to separate the functional logic from the test logic, then i add some muxes around memory, which forms a wrapper
 

funzero

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 19, 2004
Messages
198
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,304
In some cases , you will import an external IP to your system , but the interface will not full satify your reqirements . you have to write some code in order to make the IP work . the code you write is sometimes call " WRAPPER " .
 

beejan

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
23
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,473
Another very good example for wrapper application is asynhronous synhronous domain mix in a design. Or when we design a GALS besd system we have to think about wrappers.
 

C4Cheema

Member level 3
Joined
Apr 24, 2006
Messages
55
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Spain
Activity points
1,597
I have AHB2AHB Bridge I want to write XBUS wrapper inside it
Will you guide me what amendments should I need to do.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top