Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What do you think of my microstrip?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ltkenbo

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am an electrical engineering student at a university. I am designing a project with my teach which uses zigbee technology. I have designed one of our circuit boards and I don't know a lot about microstrip stuff and RF board design but I did my best. The zigbee is in the 2.4 GHz range and the microstrip from the balun to the antenna needs to have an impedance of 50 ohms (to match the balun output and antenna).

Anyways I will include 3 pictures. The first one is the original. We had this board made on a mill machine. I designed the microstrip for using thin ".031 board, it is .055" wide which with that thickness of board should be around 50 ohms. However when we had it made at the school they used thicker ".062 board. However, it seems to be able to actually transmit a good distance. All shown dimensions are in mils (thousands of an inch)
microstrip original.png

For our second board which we are having fabbed I made the microstrip way wider to correct for the ".062 board thickness. However I realized that I should have mitered the edge. So the third picture I have included shows the current design with a mitered edge.
90 degree.png

Third image (current design):
90 degree mitered.png