Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What are metal and via blockage layers

Status
Not open for further replies.

vidyacharan

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
16
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,371
Hi,

What are metal and via blockage layers and how are they different from normal metal layers?
what are system metal blockages?
 

ckshivaram

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,060
Helped
2,149
Reputation
4,304
Reaction score
2,088
Trophy points
1,393
Location
villingen (Germany) / Bangalore
Activity points
30,086
Hi,
Blockage layer are used when you dont want to use a particular layer in specified area..
Advantage:
You can avoid shorts and avoid the extra parasitics..
Example: If somewhere clock is routed and you dont want it to couple with higher or lower metal then you use blockage layer ...

**broken link removed**
**broken link removed**
 

vidyacharan

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
16
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,371
hi,

can u give me the difference between route guides and routing blockage w.r.t how they fix DRC violations?



Thank you.
 

rca

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
1,510
Helped
355
Reputation
710
Reaction score
331
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Marin
Activity points
8,675
metal or via routing blockage are not a layer, it is just to indicate to the tool, the layers are not available for routing, and should take account for the placement as well.
route guide, is constraints to route some types of signals, like clock nets need double space free around to reduce si (for example), or some specific signal that need wide net ...
 

    V

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

vidyacharan

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
16
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,371
will route guides be checked for DRC violations?
 

rca

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
1,510
Helped
355
Reputation
710
Reaction score
331
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Marin
Activity points
8,675
route guide will be flag by place & route tool, not by a signoff tool, because the signoff checks the techno DRC , and the place&route checks the techno DRC and the other guide.
I expect some guide could be soft or hard, I mean, soft: as possible respect the rule, hard, reported as a DRC violation if unrespected.
 

    V

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top