Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

What are difference between QuatusII and MaxIIplus

Status
Not open for further replies.

nattawoot_s

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
99
What are difference between QuatusII and MaxIIplus?
 

EcraZ

Full Member level 4
Joined
May 17, 2001
Messages
201
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,232
While MaxPlusII is for implementation of logic on FPGA

QuartusII is for System On Chip development onto an FPGA
 

cdcll

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
163
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,199
I was told that the "Synthesize" function of the MaxPlusII is not so good, especially for VHDL, and the QuartusII is much more better on it.
 

Chinaski

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 17, 2001
Messages
110
Helped
17
Reputation
34
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Spain
Activity points
795
Quartus -> Only FPGA's (Flex, Apex, Stratix,etc...)
MaxPlus -> EPLD's and some FPGA's (eg 10K)
 

verilog

Member level 1
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Messages
33
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
VN
Activity points
185
Chinasky is right. MaxPlus only supports low-density FPGA and CPLD. Quatus is for high-density FPGA.
 

ze_dib

Member level 5
Joined
Jan 6, 2003
Messages
80
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
France
Activity points
1,122
Chinacky is right,

but Max2 has very low capacity to synthetise VHDL and lower, if possible, in verilog : it doesn't support all syntax.

I don' t know about quartus II, used just a little for NIOS implementation. Seems to run fine with Verilog.

TOTO2001
 

sc/mp

Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 10, 2002
Messages
128
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,054
Qu@rtus now supports most of CPLD, m@x7000 included
except 7000S. Next version will do !

Regards
 

ukapil

Member level 2
Joined
Jan 23, 2002
Messages
49
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
339
Hi,
As u guys said.. MaxPlus is for lower end products (EPLDs etc). It also does not recognise some VHDL syntaxs.
quartus now supports almost all the @ltera products.

--ukapil
 

mart242

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Mar 13, 2003
Messages
18
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
142
Be careful with Quartus... It understands only a small subset of the VHDL syntax so do not do fancy high level VHDL stuff..

You could always compile your code with Leonardo Spectrum that comes with it, it should work. But Altera will not be providing Leonardo Spectrum as of october or something like that.
 

packet

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Sep 25, 2002
Messages
19
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
76
QuatusII need more PC RAMs than Altera.
I think 512MByte is recommended.
 

mart242

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Mar 13, 2003
Messages
18
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
142
I guess we could sum it up in a few words. I'd say:

If you're starting a new design, use Quartus

If you need to modify an existing design made with MaxPlus2, use MaxPlus2.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top