Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Water level detection

Status
Not open for further replies.

ibrahim03

Full Member level 1
Joined
Sep 29, 2005
Messages
99
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
2,335
water level detector schematics

I am making a motor controlling device for controlling the motor of a water pump.The motor is switched on and off by a relay depending on the level of water in a tank.
Wires are placed in the tank at different levels. When the water reaches the appropriate level the wires are shorted and the coil of the relay is activated and the motor is switched off.
The trouble is, I am having problem with conduction through water.The relay coil is about 400 Ω and it operates at 28V DC. The circuit works perfectly well when I short the wires manually but when shorted through water the coil does not activate.Why does this happen ? What do you suggest I do ? How can I make it work ?
 

nec3

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Apr 24, 2003
Messages
25
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
287
how does water level detector work

a 400 ohms relay can not be driven by water resistance.waterresistance is above several kilo ohms. so you need to make a circuit like current booster, level sensor or buy a ready-made a controller called "sivi seviye rolesi"....
 

zajbanlik

Member level 1
Joined
Jan 26, 2006
Messages
39
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Germany
Activity points
1,700
Hi

the resistance of wather is not so small (theoretycally the resistance of pure wather is 0). You should try to mesaure current when you connect yours coil nodes schort and over the wather to see the difference.

Regards
 

bucov

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jul 21, 2005
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,333
i hope that circuit can help you greetings!:D
 

ceaser

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Dec 26, 2005
Messages
110
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Egypt
Activity points
2,681
From my little experince in designing the electronic circuits;

i suggest the following:

1-you can use pressre sensor,when water reach certain level;the corresponding

pressre of it will be a function of the water head and the area of the tank

2-you can use 555 chip but i dont remember the circuit that can sense the level of

water
 

garg29

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
443
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,593
check out this
**broken link removed**

for 28 volt relay change the power supply but add regulator for rest of the circuit

regards
 

ibrahim03

Full Member level 1
Joined
Sep 29, 2005
Messages
99
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
2,335
I am posting the actual schematic diagram of my project.The metal strips are placed at three different levels in the tank and the motor is turned on and off depending on the water level in the tank. Please note that normally the distance between these strips will be about a foot or more. Will the relay work when the strips are such a large distance apart in water ?

Relay 1 operates at 28V
Relay 2 is also 28V and about 450Ω to 500Ω
Relay 3 operates at 220V

The motor also runs at 220V.

Also does the amount of conduction through water depend on the surface area and the material of the strips.

Please help me out. I shall be very grateful.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top