Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Voltage Regulators in-depth

Status
Not open for further replies.

BabaYaga

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi Guys,
When i studied academically about the voltage regulators, they were devices used to reduce ripple in the output DC voltage with Zener diode forming the reference and operating in reverse bias.i don't know what are the disadvantages of such a regulator but i do know that Band gap is used as voltage reference now-a-days, so here are some queries to address:
1 - How does a Band Gap function as a Voltage Reference
2 - There are several kinds of PMICs like Buck, Boost, Buck-Boost
a - what are they in terms of functioning?
b - when to use them(applications or How to select appropriate one for a given application)?
3 - Linear Regulators vs Switching Regulators

you can take any device as an example like LT1086, PTN04050C etc.,

So, lets a have an interesting discussion and please kindly provide any references to your suggestions or replies since it really helps in the precise understanding of the topic.

Thank You

I can answer some of your questions... In practical i am using both linear & switching regulators for automotive applications. I am using Micrel MIC29302 & A5975. Even though both devices are capable to deliver 3A current, micrel get hot for little more then 500mA. But the A5975 is operating cool @ 3A constant current. only the inductor get warm little.
My opinion is linear regulator will give very good DC output without noise, but will get hot for high current & need heat sink(Suitable for low current low noise applications).