Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Voltage drop question - will capacitor help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

robotnut

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Voltage drop question

Hi All;

Total noob, first post:D

I'm working on a small robotics project. I have an embedded computer (5V) and 2 motors with a controller. It's all powered from a 4.8V NIMH battery.
The problem I'm having;

As the battery gets somewhat tired and I load the motors for starting or climbing a steep obstacle, the voltage drops a little from 5V to about 4.5 momentarily but it's just enough to restart the computer :idea:

What I'm thinking of to solve this problem is adding a capacitor to the power cable of the computer. Would that help the problem? Like I said the drop only happens for a fraction of a second.

I know I could use a bigger battery but I have a room issue already as it is.

Thanx in advance.

Re: Voltage drop question

[
b]What I'm thinking of to solve this problem is adding a capacitor to the power cable of the computer[/b]

This may solve ur problem as it seems to be a glitch while ur systems start. Also check the current consumption of ur circuit.