Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Visitor counter WITHOUT using Microcontrollers..?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nithin kamath

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi... I need a help from u all... I am doing "A bidirectional Visitor Counter" using a pair of Infrared LEDs and Photo Diodes..... I googled about this, but each and every result uses a microcontroller in it....
I am a Computer Science Student and dont have much Idea about Microcontrollers....

So can i Make a Visitor Counter Without using any Microcontroller...???

I have an Idea,, But before trying that, I thought i can get Much more Ideas from u people who are very much concerned about Electronics.....

Please Help me .... Make it as simpler as possible..... Hope u all can help me...

Thanks in advance :)

You would need to implement logic that can understand which photodiode output went low, and in which order, and be able to handle things like a visitor changing their mind half-way and walking back out before the second photodiode output goes low. You may also need to implement circuitry that actually pulses the LEDs, to be able to use the circuit in varying light conditions. Now you can choose to implement that logic in (say) discrete gates (good luck, the circuit will be the size of a PC motherboard), or using programmable logic or a computing device. The choice between the latter two depends on what you're comfortable with.