Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Virtex 5, Arithmetic Functions, need some help and advice!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Curtains

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hey everyone

I have various functions, such as multiplying floatings points by floating points, i suppose i can use the given IPs, however there are cases where i need to power the floating point by ( 4 / 3 ) .

I have little experience in using DSP or Microblaze or any other Embedded processor within the FPGAs. I would say i am not familiar at all in using them.

So is that a direction i should be heading to ( DSP and microblaze ) ? or should i just rely on IPs given with ML501 chip?

Thanks

A single division and exponent is no need to jump to using an embedded processor, the Virtex 5 should have plenty of DSP blocks that allow you to do this.

I would use an third party IP core, there is an open source project called FLoPoCo, it is a floating point core generator which allows you to type an expression which you want to calculate, and the software will automatically generate sythesisable VHDL code to match that expression.

I haven't used it before, but the project is quite active (last release was 2.5 weeks ago). The only thing I'm uncertain about it, is that I don't think it takes advantage of embedded multipliers or DSP blocks on the target platform - although this is not an issue for small designs.