Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Video transmmision problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

awaisaamir

Newbie level 6
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
14
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Rawalpindi, Pakistan
Activity points
1,357
hy,
i am final year engineering student. we have to transmit video in real time from a robot to base unit for this purpose which module should we use . please suggest some idea

thanks
 

jeffrey samuel

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
1,094
Helped
107
Reputation
214
Reaction score
107
Trophy points
1,363
Location
chennai,india
Activity points
6,373
Are you planning wired or wire less transmission also tell the range which has to be transmitted
 

ALERTLINKS

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Dec 13, 2003
Messages
1,259
Helped
396
Reputation
786
Reaction score
380
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Pakistan
Activity points
7,263
What frequency band is chosen? There may be legal issues for such a range. Antenna plays important role in range of system.
Will it be a whip antenna on robot.
 

sky_123

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
1,170
Helped
279
Reputation
566
Reaction score
273
Trophy points
1,363
Activity points
9,602
About the only legal option is probably making use of the mobile phone network. 3G access would do it.

In the absence of 3G, it is possible to transmit video at (say) one frame per sec with a low resolution, with just a few kHz bandwidth. I don't know of any codec (I don't work in this area).
 

bigdogguru

Administrator
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
9,831
Helped
2,349
Reputation
4,692
Reaction score
2,275
Trophy points
1,413
Location
Southwest, USA
Activity points
62,376
yes we can use antenna , is there any zigbee(XBee) module which can use with our robot

While Digi does offer the XTend 900MHz line of long range XBees, 40 miles line of sight or 3000ft indoors, the available throughput, 115Kbps, is not sufficient for anything close to real time video.

The Digi XTend modules are also rather expensive at around $180 per module.


sky_123's suggestion of using a GPRS/GSM module is certainly one possibility.

Another possible option would be to use long range WiFi, although these units can be expensive as well.

Most are comprised of a high dB directional antenna with 1000mW or 2000mW WiFi transmitter.

**broken link removed**


BigDog
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top