Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

VHDL Syntax error in Modelsim simulator

Status
Not open for further replies.

venkatec

Newbie level 6
Joined
Aug 16, 2006
Messages
14
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Hyderabad
Activity points
1,378
Hi Frnds,

Below vhdl statment is giving syntax error in modelsim simulator,Could you correct this error.

f0 <= ((seq_pat(0) xnor Rx_data(55))+(seq_pat(1) xnor Rx_data(54))+ (seq_pat(2) xnor Rx_data(53))+(seq_pat(3) xnor Rx_data(52)));

error:** Error: D/binary_pattern_correlator.vhd(74): No feasible entries for infix operator "+".

Thanks,
vk
 

pev

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jul 9, 2009
Messages
14
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,388
error vhdl infix operator

I beleave your problem is the + operator does not understand one or two of the types coming into it and/or out of it.

Try converting all the + operator inputs to integers and back again like so:

f0 <= conv_std_logic_vector(conv_integer(seq_pat(0) xnor Rx_data(55))+conv_integer(seq_pat(1) xnor Rx_data(54))+ conv_integer(seq_pat(2) xnor Rx_data(53))+conv_integer(seq_pat(3) xnor Rx_data(52)),f0'length);

Note: I have assuemed that f0 is a std_logic_vector and you are using these libaries.
library IEEE;
use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_1164.ALL;
use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_ARITH.ALL;
use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_UNSIGNED.ALL;
If you will need to use different conversion functions.

Hope this helps.

PS: what are you actualy trying to do here?
 
  • Like
Reactions: afarouk

    venkatec

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

    afarouk

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

venkatec

Newbie level 6
Joined
Aug 16, 2006
Messages
14
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Hyderabad
Activity points
1,378
syntax error in vhdl

Thanks for your kind response.

I am trying to find correlation of two sequences ,for that i am using one IEEE

derived fromula..

Yeah "fo" is std logic vector,So i am using the libraries you mentioned.

I will try with your solution and get back to you...

Thanks,
venkat k
 

Tan

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
216
Helped
10
Reputation
20
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,742
Re: VHDL Syntax error

You must mention the ARITH libraries for + to wrk out in your code.
 

    venkatec

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

venkatec

Newbie level 6
Joined
Aug 16, 2006
Messages
14
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Hyderabad
Activity points
1,378
Re: VHDL Syntax error

Hi Frnd,

The problem is sloved.

Thanks.
vk
 

venkatec

Newbie level 6
Joined
Aug 16, 2006
Messages
14
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Hyderabad
Activity points
1,378
VHDL Syntax error

Hi frnd,

Here is one small issue while simulating below code

signal parallel_data:std_logic_vector(55 downto 0):= "00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000";
process( clock,reset)
variable count: integer range 0 to 56 := 0;
begin
if clock'event and clock = '1' then
if reset = '0' then
count := 0;
parallel_data <= "00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000";
parallel_data_out <= "00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000";
Device_en <= '0';
else
if(count <= 55) then
parallel_data(count-1) <= serial_data_in;
count := count +1


In the above code simulator is strucked at this line

parallel_data(count-1) <= serial_data_in;

serial_data_in is single bit signal


and giving error like below

# Fatal error in Process line__17 at D:/Vlsiprojects/Student_projects/Sunitha_pj/Code_development/frame_synchronizer/Vhdl_Ver/serial_2_parallel.vhd line 28

28 th line is

parallel_data(count-1) <= serial_data_in;


Please give me correct syntax for this..

Thanks,
vk
 

oursriharsha

Member level 3
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
54
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Mumbai, India
Activity points
1,622
Re: VHDL Syntax error

Code:
else 
if(count <= 55) then	
parallel_data(count-1) <= serial_data_in; 
count := count +1

are any other set of conditions you rae checking in the else conditions ?

please check the syntax

elsif

instead of else
if (...... .... . .. )


please do let me know the rest of the code.
 

pev

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jul 9, 2009
Messages
14
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,388
Re: VHDL Syntax error

Try this:

Code:
if count = 55 then --I only changed this line
parallel_data(count-1) <= serial_data_in;
count := count +1;
end if;
 

venkatec

Newbie level 6
Joined
Aug 16, 2006
Messages
14
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Hyderabad
Activity points
1,378
Re: VHDL Syntax error

Hi,

I Sloved this problem.

in this code bug is here..

parallel_data(count-1) <= serial_data_in;

Here count is range from 0 to 55

so i am doing count-1 operation that means 0 -1 = -1

-1 is not in the range of count.SO that is why simulator is strucked at this point..

Thanks,
vk

Added after 1 hours 19 minutes:
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top