Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

VHDL: Code for 4-bit register

Status
Not open for further replies.

InS0mN1aC

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everyone,

I am new to VHDL and I have to write behavioral vhdl code for a 4-bit register with parallel load, using a D-Flip Flop. Here is the D-FF code i have to use:
Code:
library IEEE;
use IEEE.std_logic_1164.all;

entity dff is
   port (d   : in std_logic;
      preset : in std_logic;
      clear  : in std_logic;
      clk    : in std_logic;
      q      : out std_logic);
end dff;

architecture bhv_dff of dff is
begin
   process(clk, clear, preset)
   begin
      if clear = '0' then 

q <= '0';
      elsif preset = '1' then
         q <= '1';
      elsif clk'event and clk='1' then
         q <= d;
      end if;
   end process;
end bhv_dff;

Can you help me how to use this, in order to implement the register?

Thank you!!

Hello everyone,

I am new to VHDL and I have to write behavioral vhdl code for a 4-bit register with parallel load, using a D-Flip Flop. Here is the D-FF code i have to use:

I'm guessing that your statement "Here is the D-FF code i have to use" is the important part of this assignment because without it, all you would need to do is take your code for the D flip flop and make a slight modification to something like this

Code VHDL - [expand]
process(clk)
begin
   if clk'event and clk='1' then
      if (Load = '1') then
         q <= d;
      end if;
   end if;
end process;