Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

VHDL Beginner Coding Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

trax

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, this is my first time posting. So I'm not sure if this is the right forumn section to post in. If not please redirect me to the correct one. Thanks.

I'm working on a basic game project. But I'm having worrys about synthesizing the program onto the Altera Cyclone II board.

So I basically I want to reduce some redundancy in the coding. In particular I have this for example,

This checks for one variable for multiple conditions. Is there an efficient way to extend the IF statements to check a second variable without going through the condition statements again?

if ( (DrawX = row1) and (DrawY = col2)) then --row1 2 points
G_state <= s1;
exit;
elsif ( (DrawX = row1) and (DrawY = col7)) then
G_state <= s2;
exit;
elsif ( (DrawX = row2) and (DrawY = col1)) then --row2 8 points
G_state <= s3;
exit;
elsif ( (DrawX = row2) and (DrawY = col2)) then
G_state <= s4;
exit;
end if;

if ( (DrawX2 = row1) and (DrawY2 = col2)) then --row1 2 points
G2_state <= s1;
exit;
elsif ( (DrawX2 = row1) and (DrawY2 = col7)) then
G2_state <= s2;
exit;
elsif ( (DrawX2 = row2) and (DrawY2 = col1)) then --row2 8 points
G2_state <= s3;
exit;
elsif ( (DrawX2 = row2) and (DrawY2 = col2)) then
G2_state <= s4;
exit;
end if;

What I mean is, how can I go about exchanging the variables DrawX, DrawY, G_state to their second counter parts, DrawX2, DrawY2, G2_state? Without having to go through the entire IF Condition statements again.