Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

VerilogA Warning VACMP-1047 "more than one module"

Status
Not open for further replies.

edwina

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear edaboard members,

I am new to VerilogA and I have a question related to the Spectre VACOMP-1047 warning. I am trying to fabricate a Voltage Controlled Delay Line (VCDL) in VerilogA which is build up out of Voltage Controlled Delay Cells (VCDC). I include the VCDC into the VCDL to make multiple instances of it. However Spectre gives the following warning:
WARNING (VCOMP-1047): The Verilog-A file contains more than one module definition. ADE canprocess only one module per Verilog-A file. Put only one module in each Verilog-A file so that ADE can idenfity pin names, directions, and hierarchy within each separate module.
I don't understand what I am doing wrong. Making instantiations of module A in module B, is a thing that is even done in the Cadence Verilog-A Language Reference guide. The only way to access module A in file B is, as far as I know, via includes. Do you have any suggestions or tips?

I think I am using version 6.1.7-64.b.500.4 of the cadence IC design suite.

The code of the VCDL
Code:
// VerilogA for DLL_ideal, VCDL, veriloga

`include "constants.vams"
`include "disciplines.vams"

`timescale 1s/1ps

module VCDL (in, delay_control, out);
input in, delay_control;
output [0:7] out;

electrical in, delay_control;
electrical [0:7] int_node;
electrical [0:7] out;

VCDC VCDC0(in, int_node[0], delay_control);
	VCDC VCDC1(int_node[0], int_node[1], delay_control);
	VCDC VCDC2(int_node[1], int_node[2], delay_control);