Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Verilog: assign register outputs using wire

Status
Not open for further replies.

Buriedcode

Full Member level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I'm relatively new to verilog (avoided VHDL like the plague) but decided to use it for a complicated logic block I need for an LCD controller - it takes in 3 single bit inputs, R,G and B, and outputs three bytes sequentially. It reads in the RGB inputs 8 times, and outputs the three 3 bytes. ( 8 X 3 inputs = 24 bits. = 3 bytes).
A byte is sent out after 4 input reads, another after another 4 input reads, then, sometime later, the last byte.

This is essentially a state machine, so I've included a 4-bit counter to count from 0 to 11 (12 states). I've uesd a 'case' statement for each of the states 0-7, but I only need one thing done in states 8-11, therefore, I picked state 10. In the states I do not need anything done, I have simpley put

b[15:0] <= b[15:0]; // Hoping the fitter will realise this doesn't actually do anything.

I'm using 16 registers as temporary storage, plus 4 for the counter, plus inevitably some more for combinatorial. However, Quartus has generated something with 28 macrocells. I understand that its not an easy problem, but I fear these extra macrocells are generated because of my poor coding style, and so, I've provided the module, with hope that someone can point out flaws. I am not asking for confirmation of functionality (it works exactly as I intended), but more for optimization as every macrocell counts in this design:

Code:
module LCDcolfmat(clkin,cntout,dout,R,G,B,reset);

reg [15:0] b;