Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Using TIP41C to turn on and turn off Motor

Status
Not open for further replies.

AnimaSolo

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm new to motors so here's my question:

Power supply:
12V 4.5A Battery
Motor current = 2.5A
Transistor : TIP41C

Here's the circuit diagram:

**broken link removed**

I just want to test if the 12V supply can turn on the TIP41C transistor. When I turn on the switch, the transistor gets REALLY hot (hurt my finger when I touched it :oops:), and the motor turns VERY slowly.

Is the problem here because the base current is not enough to fully turn on the TIP41C transistor and thus the motor is not getting enough current to spin at it's maximum speed?

And is that amount of heat normal? When it became hot I immediately turned off the power.

Transistor Datasheet:
www.electro-tech-online.com/attachm...7194d1202307690-transistor-current-tip41c.pdf

*sry that you guys hv to copy and paste the links, I don't hv enough post counts to put them :(

Last edited:

Your circuit doesn't make sense. Ignoring the fact that the base resistor won't supply enough base current to turn the transistor ON with 2.5A, if you have a switcher in series with the motor why bother with a transistor at all?

Keith

I just want to test if I can turn on the transistor that's all. The full circuit will incorporate an optocoupler which will be connected to a microcontroller pin, and its output to the motor power supply and the base of the TIP41C.