Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Using attenuator for RF power amplifier

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mabrok

Full Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I am going to do measurements of RF power amplifier, and I have some questions as this is my first time doing the real measurements. The design based on PCB and discrete components, output power capability of about 40 dBm (10 Watt)

1. Regarding the stability, Is k-delta test using simulation in ADS enough to verify the transistor stability? What will happen if the amplifier being unstable during the measurements? Are there any risk whether on PA or VNA?

2. The effect of decoupling or bypass capacitors especially on the transistor?

3. If the 50 ohm input and output are not matching perfectly or poor matching (due to load and source impedance for the real transistor is different from that obtained during the simulation), what will happen for VNA if have a high reflection whether on input or output? How can protect the VNA? Is using attenuator between output of port 2 and input of VNA is sufficient to protect VNA?

Many VNAs are rated to about +30 dBm (1 W) input power so you will definitely need an attenuator if you plan to measure the S-parameters under large drive conditions. It would be best to try and keep the output power below +10 dBm for peace of mind.