Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Using an Oscilloscope

Status
Not open for further replies.

EricaS

Member level 3
Joined
May 6, 2015
Messages
60
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
6
Activity points
513
Hello

I'm trying to find a high impedance audio signal (in the megaohms) on a telephone line.

Can someone point out how to do this using an oscilloscope?

Regards.
E
 

Audioguru

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
9,211
Helped
2,128
Reputation
4,250
Reaction score
1,955
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Toronto area of Canada
Activity points
57,862
A telephone line does not have any high impedance signals, it is about 600 ohms to 1000 ohms. It might measure megaohms if it is not connected to anything and its length is very short.
A telephone line is supposed to be powered by the central office and sometimes has a telephone that is off hook at its end.

Why do you think there is a high impedance audio signal on a telephone line?
 

EricaS

Member level 3
Joined
May 6, 2015
Messages
60
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
6
Activity points
513
Why do you think there is a high impedance audio signal on a telephone line?

Its a short course project. There is a high impedance (megaohms) audio signal on a telephone line while the phone is on-hook. We need to find it using an oscilloscope.
Other equipment to assist is allowed.

I have no clue what to do.
 

betwixt

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
14,859
Helped
4,854
Reputation
9,726
Reaction score
4,640
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
Activity points
126,484
Telephone lines are normally 400 Ohm or 600 Ohm impedance, a high impedance signal applied across the line would be hugely attenuated and almost certainly lost in the background noise. I suspect you are not interpreting the project correctly, are you trying to measure a signal across an 'on hook' line such as might be sent for caller ID data before the handset is picked up? If that is the case, it's a low level signal but not a high impedance one. The impedance across a line that isn't in use is still low even though little DC current may be flowing through it.

Brian.
 

Vbase

Full Member level 6
Joined
Apr 7, 2015
Messages
367
Helped
74
Reputation
148
Reaction score
72
Trophy points
28
Activity points
1,997
Its a short course project. There is a high impedance (megaohms) audio signal on a telephone line while the phone is on-hook. We need to find it using an oscilloscope.
Other equipment to assist is allowed.

I have no clue what to do.

It is OK to call it high impedance line because the phone line is a DC current source modulated with AC. 50V 35mA current at dialing tone.
If you put 680 Ohm, 5%, 1/4W resistor across the line wires and hook your oscilloscope probe on the resistor you will see on the screen the audio signal.
 

SunnySkyguy

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Sep 26, 2007
Messages
6,743
Helped
1,675
Reputation
3,348
Reaction score
1,644
Trophy points
1,413
Location
Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
Activity points
50,732
Telephone uses current source in one direction and voltage source in other direction and thus a hybrid transformer is used.
Since current is high impedance signal terminated by line impedance, this is the one , that you may be looking for. Use differential probe method around hybrid or voice separator chip.
 

Vbase

Full Member level 6
Joined
Apr 7, 2015
Messages
367
Helped
74
Reputation
148
Reaction score
72
Trophy points
28
Activity points
1,997
Telephone uses current source in one direction and voltage source in other direction and thus a hybrid transformer is used.
Since current is high impedance signal terminated by line impedance, this is the one , that you may be looking for. Use differential probe method around hybrid or voice separator chip.
What will happen if the probe is earthed?
 

Audioguru

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
9,211
Helped
2,128
Reputation
4,250
Reaction score
1,955
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Toronto area of Canada
Activity points
57,862
What will happen if the probe is earthed?
Then the telephone line will no longer be balanced and acts like an antenna to pickup a lot of mains hum. Aa balanced line cancels mains hum and other interference.

You can use two input channels on a 'scope as a differential amplifier that has a balanced input.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Vbase

    Vbase

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top