Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Useless digital engineer having comparator problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

graeme_cunningham

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm a digital engineer and have what I thought I thought would be a relatively easy analogue electronics problem to solve for an application I'm working on. But I'm having problems getting started.

I have two signals. The first is the "gate" signal. It will normally be 0v but will occasionally generate a pulse. The width of the pulse can vary.

During the time when the gate signal is above a specific value, a fixed width pulse should be generated on the next zero crossing of the 2nd signal

(I don't yet have the device that will generate the signals so can’t say what specifically

I've been able to use a Schmitt trigger some useful signals but tying it all together has got me stumped.

G

Didn't understand the question?
What do you want exactly?
[Q] During the time when the gate signal is above a specific value, a fixed width pulse should be generated on the next zero crossing of the 2nd signal
[/Q]
This can be done by a timer IC.. IC555

It might help you to draw out the expected input and required
output waveforms, and perhaps some of the envisioned
intermediate steps. This might make things clearer in your
mind.

Your fixed width output pulse wants a "one-shot" or
"monostable multivibrator", presumably with a non-retriggerable
input option.

Zero-crossing wants a comparator to drive this one=shot's
trigger input. The one-shot will likely have an enable so
you can use that, via another comparator if necessary,