Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Urgent help is needed for SMPS project.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Finally got it working. With first transformer bad ringing rewound in second sequence (as mentioned in post#18).Unregulated output 18v,2.75A without significant voltage drop.
Regulated it to 12v with a resistor and zener diode at 4N35 optocoupler.Don't have an oscilloscope at the time to run the tests,May have one soon and build some advanced circuit of SMPS After completion of the reading of book for SMPS design which i am studying already.
With help you guys i got things made easy for me to understand better.Love it.
Thanks a million,friends.

how u find the core number,is it printed on core like EI-33, E-42
NO. As i salvage them from computer psu,TV,VCR,Monitors,printers and any other dead equipment with Smps based power supply inside.
I never found a core with part number printed on the core itself.AS they are always salvaged and being never able to find a new one in our country,it becomes a tricky (actually way too tricky)business to work with these cores.
Some time the manufacturer of the ferrite transformer puts a certain code on the tape wrapped around the core which may have initials for the core geometry and physical size.Some time they just mix it with the code even some time no such initials are given and the part number is customary to the manufacture.

Getting the physical dimension of the core it easy,you can use just a ruler and measure the dimensions(it is to be measured for one half of the core).