Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

upconverter in transmitter

Status
Not open for further replies.

khouly

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 20, 2003
Messages
2,368
Helped
461
Reputation
916
Reaction score
101
Trophy points
1,343
Location
EGYPT
Activity points
13,244
gsm upconverter

i am design an up conversion mixer in TX , but the IF power is saturating the mixer in my design , when i use 0 dbm as the IF input , i found that the output power is about -6 dbm

but when i just made the input power -30 dbm IF , i found the upcomverter singal have about -18 dbm , this means i have about 12 db gain

i need to make the mixer work in 0 dbm , any recommendations

khouly
 

mirabella2

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jul 22, 2007
Messages
13
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Solar system, Saturn
Activity points
1,339
You use what type of the mixers?
You use what frequencies?
Can use some mixers?
To divide a signal on an input and to summarize on an output?
 

khouly

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 20, 2003
Messages
2,368
Helped
461
Reputation
916
Reaction score
101
Trophy points
1,343
Location
EGYPT
Activity points
13,244
the frequency of the output is about 7.3 Ghz ,
the IF is 2 GHz , the LO is 5.3 GHz

khouly
 

fanshuo

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
266
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Netherlands
Activity points
2,748
you have voltage gain more than 3dB, so you must use gilbert cell.
Assume you use CMOS transistor
In case the IF signal is so large that makes the input transistor works in linear region instead of in saturation region, I think you should decrease the load resistor and increase the transconductance gm.

regards
 

khouly

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 20, 2003
Messages
2,368
Helped
461
Reputation
916
Reaction score
101
Trophy points
1,343
Location
EGYPT
Activity points
13,244
i am designing a microwave one , based on discreete HEMT

khouly
 

Lance_RFdude.com

Member level 3
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Messages
65
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Rochester, NY
Activity points
1,733
have you tried the resistive fet mixer yet? I've seen compression points at least in this ballpark at this frequency range using the NE32/4210 devices.

Lance
 

radiohead

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
May 13, 2004
Messages
447
Helped
66
Reputation
128
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Heart of Europe
Activity points
3,562
Why don't you use a Hittite mixer? hmc219ms8.pdf has a typical input referred 1 dB compression point of 10 dBm. I would certainly advise a passive mixer for better linearity.
 

khouly

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 20, 2003
Messages
2,368
Helped
461
Reputation
916
Reaction score
101
Trophy points
1,343
Location
EGYPT
Activity points
13,244
lance
i am working in the resistive mixer now , but ididn't get this compresion point

radiohead
my supervisor want it to be designed by me , not a of the shelf mixer

khouly
 

benever

Member level 5
Joined
Oct 5, 2006
Messages
93
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,882
I am doing a quadrature mixer too, need your help!



thanks!
 

khouly

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 20, 2003
Messages
2,368
Helped
461
Reputation
916
Reaction score
101
Trophy points
1,343
Location
EGYPT
Activity points
13,244
what do u need , i have finshed the mixer design , we can discuss the design

khouly
 

benever

Member level 5
Joined
Oct 5, 2006
Messages
93
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,882
i am going to design a quadrature up conversion mixer in the Tx,


the LO is 2G and the IF is 5M


need the output is 2.005G


help me !
 

studbdude

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
15
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,356
i need to design up converter whose IF 70 mhz and for c band i m dealing in earth station design will u people help me in that query
 

angu

Member level 3
Joined
Nov 5, 2007
Messages
62
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,688
Downconverter using coupler and diodes

i need to design a dual band mixer (GSM - 900 MHz and 1800MHz). i used a dual band hybrid coupler in ADS, converted this layout in to schematic and added diodes.My desired IF is 500MHz.I designed a filter for tht frequency also.Now my problem is i dont know how to give inputs(RF and LO) and to which ports of Hybrid coupler in ADS.dont know how to use tht sweep plan. can anybody suggest me the solutions....
 

khouly

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 20, 2003
Messages
2,368
Helped
461
Reputation
916
Reaction score
101
Trophy points
1,343
Location
EGYPT
Activity points
13,244
try to use parameter sweep , it is much easier than sweep plan

khouly
 

ttkane

Newbie level 5
Joined
May 28, 2008
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,344
Maybe you can using DESIGN GUIDES,that have some sample can be pratices.
I'd ever using transistor design UP-converter.
maybe you can using BFT25 transistor, good luck
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top