Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Understanding IO requirements for MAX10 Intel Altera FPGA

gary36

Full Member level 2
Joined
Mar 31, 2018
Messages
132
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
16
Activity points
1,242
I was trying to compile my design into MAX10 FPGA 144 QFP Package(Device: 10M02). My IO's are 95 (out of 101). Quartus tool while fitting gives the following error messages
Error (176205): Can't place 93 pins with 3.3-V LVCMOS I/O standard because Fitter has only 91 such free pins available for general purpose I/O placement

If I let the quartus to choose the IO voltage levels, it selects 2.5V and device fitting is successful. Can anybody explain the error as I require all the IOs to be 3.3V
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
47,489
Helped
14,050
Reputation
28,355
Reaction score
12,708
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
276,162
You should be able to answer the question yourself, if you check which pins don't accept 3.3V VCCIO. I guess, you have fixed configuration voltage to 2.5V which constrains the respective bank.
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
18,097
Helped
4,057
Reputation
8,114
Reaction score
3,976
Trophy points
113
Activity points
119,397
Hi,

so either use 3.3V as configuration voltage or just add some logic level converters.
.. either for the configuration signals or the couple signals that are on the 2.5V bank.

Klaus
 

gary36

Full Member level 2
Joined
Mar 31, 2018
Messages
132
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
16
Activity points
1,242
Where Do I get this information from?
 

ads-ee

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
7,654
Helped
1,774
Reputation
3,556
Reaction score
1,724
Trophy points
1,393
Location
USA
Activity points
57,826
Where Do I get this information from?
You get it by reading the documentation for the MAX10 part you are using. The documentation will tell you how many pins support 3.3V and what restrictions there are about where these pins are.

Usually if you have some pins that don't have to be high speed you could just move those to 2.5V I/O through voltage translators.
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
18,097
Helped
4,057
Reputation
8,114
Reaction score
3,976
Trophy points
113
Activity points
119,397
Hi,

I did an internet search about "MAX10 10M02 bank supply". The same could you do.

On the first page ... every dcoument is very informative. Most reliable documents are from the manufacturer INTEL/ALTERA.

Klaus
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
47,489
Helped
14,050
Reputation
28,355
Reaction score
12,708
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
276,162
I have no problems to set VCCIO of MAX10 for all banks to 3.3V. If it doesn't work for you, there must be an unsuitable configuration setting.

I presume, the problem can be narrowed down if you read the fitter report thoroughly.
 

gary36

Full Member level 2
Joined
Mar 31, 2018
Messages
132
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
16
Activity points
1,242
This error is flagged only when IO's are above 91. Less than this magic value for 144 EQFP device, there are no issues
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
18,097
Helped
4,057
Reputation
8,114
Reaction score
3,976
Trophy points
113
Activity points
119,397
Hi,

Do a test:

try with 91 pins.
The compiler will then use all pins available for use with 3V3.
Now check which (2) pins it does not use. Tell us. Or check the alternative use of these remaining pins on your own.

Klaus
 

gary36

Full Member level 2
Joined
Mar 31, 2018
Messages
132
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
16
Activity points
1,242
Hi KlausST,
Will try this , but there should be clarity a head of time. I did a quick fit in 324 pin BGA and it compiles without problem
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
47,489
Helped
14,050
Reputation
28,355
Reaction score
12,708
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
276,162
I can use 100 3.3V GPIOs with this options

1600423375414.png

1 pin has to be reserved as JTAGEN.

Without JTAG pin sharing, dedicated JTAG pins are substracted from available GPIO count
Error (176205): Can't place 100 pins with 3.3-V LVCMOS I/O standard because Fitter has only 97 such free pins available for general purpose I/O placement
Error (176204): Can't place pins due to device constraints
 

gary36

Full Member level 2
Joined
Mar 31, 2018
Messages
132
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
16
Activity points
1,242
Hi FvM
Yes, it works. But I do not understand why JTAG should be used as general purpose IO. I want to use this as dedicated JTAG port. Where do we find the reference. Please clarify
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
47,489
Helped
14,050
Reputation
28,355
Reaction score
12,708
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
276,162
You can also use dedicated JTAG port and get 97 available GPIO.
 

Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top