Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

UART Interrupts in FreeRTOS

Status
Not open for further replies.

May Powitzer

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone,
I am a newbie to FreeRTOS and I am trying to implement communication using UART on my zcu104 board.
I implemented an infinite loop in my main thread to listen for a flag raised by an interrupt handler. It works fine.
When I placed the loop after the schedular, it stopped working.
I found that inside the schedular function it has a function called “portDISABLE_INTERRUPTS()”, above it the following comment:

“Interrupts are turned off here, to ensure a tick does not occur
before or during the call to xPortStartScheduler(). The stacks of
the created tasks contain a status word with interrupts switched on
so interrupts will automatically get re-enabled when the first task
starts to run.”
I created a task as suggested in the comment and it still not working.
I tried to find out if there are any priority issues and it seems that the interrupts have a higher priority than my task as it should.

What am I missing?

Thank you.

Hi,

I didn't use RTOS before...but I think an infinite loop is not what one wants in an RTOS.
I'd use a task instead an endless loop.

Usually the (UART) interrupt stores received data in a software buffer (FIFO), maybe sets a FLAG when data is received.
The buffer need to be big enough to store at least the count data being received in the time between the main (parse) tasks.
Add some headroom.

Let's say the baudrate is 115200 and the UART_PARSE task runs every 100ms, then the buffer needs to handle 1152 bytes.