Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Two STK amps on one system

DanielKaaos

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jan 31, 2020
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
37
Hello all!

I have Sony RXD system and two STKs. One is STK407-090E and the other one is STK407-100. On both STKs the right channels are blown up. Can I (theoretically) connect the two amps in stereo mode?

Thank you!
 

BradtheRad

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
13,588
Helped
2,691
Reputation
5,378
Reaction score
2,607
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Activity points
101,522
If they work okay otherwise then you can have stereo by putting one channel through each unit, yes.

Make sure you minimize volume through the blown channel. There's a chance the output stage was not designed to be operated without a load. This assumes you leave it with no speaker attached.
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
17,841
Helped
4,011
Reputation
8,022
Reaction score
3,906
Trophy points
113
Activity points
117,989
Hi,

I'd say a defective audio amp channel may act rather random.
Low current, high current, overheating, oscillating....

Thus I'd not use the defective STKs.

Klaus
 

DanielKaaos

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jan 31, 2020
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
37
If they work okay otherwise then you can have stereo by putting one channel through each unit, yes.

Make sure you minimize volume through the blown channel. There's a chance the output stage was not designed to be operated without a load. This assumes you leave it with no speaker attached.
They both work Okay separately on the Sony system when I disconnect output of bad channel from the STK, otherwise POWER PROTECT appears on the display.

Thank you!
 

BradtheRad

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
13,588
Helped
2,691
Reputation
5,378
Reaction score
2,607
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Activity points
101,522
otherwise POWER PROTECT appears on the display.
Is this an alert telling it must shut off circuitry to reduce overmuch current in the output stage?
A speaker can be destroyed by one burst of high current AC or DC. A speaker can be destroyed by ultrasonic oscillations which we can't hear.

It's starting to look as though it's not worth the risk to use the faulty STK's. An internet search reveals they are IC's which cost only $5.
 

DanielKaaos

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jan 31, 2020
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
37
Is this an alert telling it must shut off circuitry to reduce overmuch current in the output stage?
A speaker can be destroyed by one burst of high current AC or DC. A speaker can be destroyed by ultrasonic oscillations which we can't hear.

It's starting to look as though it's not worth the risk to use the faulty STK's. An internet search reveals they are IC's which cost only $5.
Yes, that's what this message means. There is relay that shuts off the path to speakers when this happens.
 

Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top