Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Trying to control 4-digit LED display with thumb-wheel

Status
Not open for further replies.

skarkowtsky

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone-

My name is John--I'm a new forum member. A bit about me, I'm a graphic designer and amateur prop maker, though I don't know anything about electronics. Here's what I'm trying to achieve.

I'd like to use a 4 digit thumb-wheel switch (Digitran 23000) to set the numbers on a 4 digit LED display. The numbers should remain static. I don't want a clock or countdown.

Thumb-wheel:
1.jpg

4.jpg

6.jpg

Also, is it possible for (1) thumb-wheel switch to control (12) led readouts, independent of each other? So, each displays a different 4 digit number?

I'd appreciate any help you can offer.

Thanks!
John

- - - Updated - - -

Allow me to give a detailed explanation of what I'm hoping for. Then we can determine if it can be achieved.

Here is what I imagine:

Master power switch, connected to two 9 volt batteries wired in parallel. This supplies power to the (12) 4-digit LED displays, thumb-wheel, and whatever circuitry is required.