Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

transformer blowing fuses

Status
Not open for further replies.

barsukas

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
My first post here, might be a stupid questions, sorry if it is.

So, my amp keeps blowing fuses, i took the transformer out, tried to turn it on and it blew a fuse with nothing connected to the secondary windings. Resistance of the primary winding is about 105 ohms, and the fuse is 0.25A 250V, resistance of it is 16ohms. I am really new to electronics, but i think that the resistance of the primary winding is much smaller, than it should be.

Is there a problem with the transformer or could there be something entirely different?

IMG_0938.JPG

The problem with transformers is that if a turn shorts out to an adjacent turn, it totally destroys its transformer action but its resistance changes by only .01% or so.
What should its resistance be? Looking at your picture, at a guess the transformer should handle 25 Watts, as they are about 90% efficient, it will dissipate 10% X 25W = 2.5 W. One half of this will be in the iron loss and a half in the copper loss due to the resistance of the windings. So loss in resistance of copper is 1/2 X 2.5 = 1.25W. Again a half should be lost in the primary winding, so the primary winding losses .625 Watts. The current it takes is 25W/230 ~ .1 A. P = I^2 X R, .625 = .1 X.1 X R , R = 62.5 ohms. So give or take your 105 Ohms is correct, its just that the transformer has a different power rating with different losses.