Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

THURLBY THANDAR PL320T GP Power Supply - Help for remote GPIB communication commands

Status
Not open for further replies.

auato

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
29
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,525
Hi all.

I have an old TTI dual power supply (PL320T-GP) and I'm trying to drive it through a USB-GPIB interface. I don't know if the PL320T's GPIB interface runs correctly but I am sure that the USB-GPIB int. works well (I can control perfectly my Fluke 45 DMM). Looking the video below, you can see that my power supply answers to IDN command but only the first time, then the response is always with a similar string: "XVYI".
What does it mean :?: Maybe XV means X Voltage and YI Intensity of current
Please, do you have any tip, doc or command list to try to set V and I for both power-supply modules?




Regards
Ciro
 
Last edited:

betwixt

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
15,161
Helped
4,947
Reputation
9,915
Reaction score
4,760
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
Activity points
128,783
I've got a pair of PL330DP PSUs which are very similar. I got them free of cost because they were faulty (lucky me!).

I wrote to them through their web site https://www.tti-test.com/ and they were extremely helpful to the point of sending me the service manuals. Mine have the RS232 and GPIB interfaces in them but I do not have the users manual unfortunately. It would be worthwhile trying to contact them for help.

Brian.
 

auato

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
29
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,525
Thanks Brian. I wrote to TTI ... hope for a quick reply.
I take this opportunity to post a second more detailed video



Already tried to enter some random numbers to try to set V and I without success :-?

Regards
Ciro
 
Last edited:

UK_Sonics

Newbie level 3
Joined
Mar 9, 2005
Messages
4
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,307
Hi Ciro, I have the same PSU with the same issue. I am using a Prologix USB-GPIB controller. Have you had any progress??
 

UK_Sonics

Newbie level 3
Joined
Mar 9, 2005
Messages
4
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,307
Problem solved thanks to a very helpful person at TTi, see attached manual for the PL~GP Series PSU's.
 

Attachments

  • Old PL-GP manual.pdf
    1.9 MB · Views: 29

auato

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
29
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,525
Thanks Sonics!
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top