Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

The simplest way to design a pulse generator

Status
Not open for further replies.

pennsia

Junior Member level 1
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
16
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,391
pulse generator spanish

Could anyone tell me the simplest way to design a pulse generator which will double the width of the input pulse by clocking it? The input pulse width has nothing to do with the clock pulse. Thanks a lot.
 

Suresh_Patel

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Ahmedabad, India
Activity points
1,306
Re: pulse generator

If your design permits, you can use micro controoler.
You have not specified the min/max value & frquency range of the pulse input.
 

pennsia

Junior Member level 1
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
16
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,391
Re: pulse generator

It is an interview question. Assume the width of input pulse (let's say only one pulse) is between 4Tclk and 5Tclk (Tclk is the input clk cycle time) and it could start from any point (may align with the clk edge or not). But the output pulse width needs to be exact twice of the input pulse.
 

saeed_pk

Full Member level 4
Joined
May 20, 2006
Messages
238
Helped
35
Reputation
68
Reaction score
27
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Islamabad, Pakistan
Activity points
2,667
pulse generator

if you want just a simple Digital Pulse
then use 4-bit or 8-bit Synchronous Counter
Feed you input pulse to CLOCK and derived o/p by D1
(second Least Significant Bit of the counter system will be doubling the width and halving the frequency.
 

pennsia

Junior Member level 1
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
16
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,391
Re: pulse generator

Thanks saeed_pk for your reply. Could you give me a schematic? cause I'm still confusing...
 

Suresh_Patel

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Ahmedabad, India
Activity points
1,306
Re: pulse generator

Synchronous counter will give you (D1 o/p) half the i/p frequency having 50% duty cycle.
Input pulse width may have any duty cycle.
 

eChipDesign

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
26
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Nagercoil
Activity points
1,473
If the input pulse doesnt repeat and this is being fed as clock to the synchronous counter then the output of the counter will be stuck.

This is about exactly doubling the input pulse width. What you have mentioned is a clock divider circuit.

According to me the right way is to design a up/down counter. When the input pulse is '1' put the counter in up mode and when the pulse reverses put the counter in down mode. The output should be '1' for non zero values of the counter. So the input pulse will be doubled by the exact duration for which it was '1'.

Cheers,
eChipDesign.

=====================================================
eChip Design Labs
VLSI Training for Verilog and System Verilog
Nagercoil, TamilNadu

http://learn-asic.com

=====================================================
 

skyfaye

Member level 5
Joined
Feb 25, 2008
Messages
82
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,876
If it's an interview question, then the answer is usually suppose to be quick and simple. So here's a typical pulse stretcher used in digital design.

// stretch din for fast_clk to catch
always @ (posedge fast_clk)
begin
if (rst) begin
din_d1 <= #1 1'b0;
din_strh <= #1 1'b0;
end
else begin
din_d1 <= #1 din;
din_strh <= #1 (din_d1 | din); // din will be exactly twice as wide
end
end
 

eChipDesign

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
26
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Nagercoil
Activity points
1,473
The above code just increase the pulse by one 'fast clock' because you are just introducing a flop and 'or'ing with the signal.

It definitely doesnt double the pulse width. Would work for cases where the width of the pulse is one fast clock.

=====================================================
eChip Design Labs
VLSI Training for Verilog and System Verilog
Nagercoil, TamilNadu

http://learn-asic.com

=====================================================
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top