Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

the p+ resistor in analog design

Status
Not open for further replies.

John Xu

Member level 3
Joined
Jul 22, 2005
Messages
59
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,938
Hi,
We used the p+ resistor in our design. We know there are some parasitic reversed pn junction capacitance for p+resistor. I want to know is it this parasitcic junction capacitance has been included in the spice model? i.e., the pre-layout design has considered this effect when spice simulation?


Thanks in advance
 

omsi

Member level 5
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
93
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,288
Location
London
Activity points
2,105
John Xu said:
Hi,
We used the p+ resistor in our design. We know there are some parasitic reversed pn junction capacitance for p+resistor. I want to know is it this parasitcic junction capacitance has been included in the spice model? i.e., the pre-layout design has considered this effect when spice simulation?


Thanks in advance

hi,
yes the parasitic junction capacitance is considered in prelayout simulation.
 

    John Xu

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

sambireddy

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Feb 3, 2006
Messages
16
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Bangalore
Activity points
1,447
not only for the p+ resistor , all the components parasites are included in the prelayout simulation as icecaps.
 

    John Xu

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

John Xu

Member level 3
Joined
Jul 22, 2005
Messages
59
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,938
omsi said:
John Xu said:
Hi,
We used the p+ resistor in our design. We know there are some parasitic reversed pn junction capacitance for p+resistor. I want to know is it this parasitcic junction capacitance has been included in the spice model? i.e., the pre-layout design has considered this effect when spice simulation?


Thanks in advance

hi,
yes the parasitic junction capacitance is considered in prelayout simulation.

Hi, omsi
thanks for the reply!

I replaced the p+resistor with an ideal resistor and redo the simulation, but found the bandwidth has no any descrepancy. The p+resistor is the load of the diff pair. As my understanding, the parasitic pn capacitance should affect the bandwidth if it is inclueded in simulation.

Have you any idea?
Thanks
 

fendy

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
29
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,481
You can call your process admin to provide you the parasitic parameter .Good Luck!
 

    John Xu

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

Hughes

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 10, 2003
Messages
715
Helped
113
Reputation
226
Reaction score
25
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
5,984
John Xu said:
Hi,
We used the p+ resistor in our design. We know there are some parasitic reversed pn junction capacitance for p+resistor. I want to know is it this parasitcic junction capacitance has been included in the spice model? i.e., the pre-layout design has considered this effect when spice simulation?


Thanks in advance

It depends on the model. You can view the model file to find whether the parasitic junction is included. Chances are junction capacitance is not included, but voltage coefficient is include.
 

    John Xu

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

alenhan

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
17
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,410
if you have P+ resistor model, it should be included in spice model
 

John Xu

Member level 3
Joined
Jul 22, 2005
Messages
59
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,938
alenhan said:
if you have P+ resistor model, it should be included in spice model

I checked my P+resistor, it just contains the voltage and temperature parameter,no parasitic capaciatne included, just as Hughes said.

Thanks
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top