Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

The function of a lock-up latch

Status
Not open for further replies.

rakeshnunna

Member level 4
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
77
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,933
Hi,
A lockup latch is used to prevent data corruption caused by overwriting of new data over the present data before the clock edge occurs.

i.e there is a potential problem of data coming early and overwriting the present actual which has to be fed.

This can be prevented by placing a lock up latch with negative level sensitive D latch connecting the two different chains
 

    akrlot

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

funzero

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 19, 2004
Messages
198
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,304
lockup latches

DFTC can automated add a lockup latch when your design is multiple clocking .
 

    akrlot

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

akrlot

Member level 3
Joined
Jan 14, 2005
Messages
55
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
450
lock-up latch

thx all.I used the following command to stitch the chains and automatically create a lockup lach:
set_scan_configuration -clock_mixing mix_clocks
 

roger

Full Member level 3
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
163
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
1,615
lockup latch

akrlot said:
hi;
could you explain why a lockup latch is inserted between scan chains with different clocks? and how to stitch two scan chains using a latch with DFTC?
thx

see material on this page
 

    akrlot

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

xworld2008

Full Member level 4
Joined
Dec 13, 2002
Messages
231
Helped
18
Reputation
36
Reaction score
14
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,801
lock up latches

Lock-up latches are necessary to avoid skew problems during shift phase of
scan test. These problems occur if FF’s driven by different clock lines are
connected within a single scan chain.
For this it is recommended to separate scan chains according clock domains.
If not reasonable lock-up latches have to be inserted into the scan chain. To
allow a smooth scan chain stitching on product level it is recommended to
finish each core level scan chain by a lock-up latch.
 

    akrlot

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top