Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Tera Term to send continuous

joniengr

Full Member level 3
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
178
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
18
Activity points
1,589
Hi,

I need to send data from PC to COM port continuously which is just a short string to be send every 10 second. Is it possible to write for loops in Tera Term for that purpose ?
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
17,460
Helped
3,943
Reputation
7,884
Reaction score
3,813
Trophy points
113
Activity points
115,755
Hi,

A short string every 10s? Why not use a script?

in simplest case just (pseudo code)

Code:
copy file --> COMx 
pause 10
repeat
Klaus
 

joniengr

Full Member level 3
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
178
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
18
Activity points
1,589
I guess first I need to setup COM connection in Tera Term and then I need to run the script. How to run the script ? In which file do I need to save the code ?
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
17,460
Helped
3,943
Reputation
7,884
Reaction score
3,813
Trophy points
113
Activity points
115,755
Hi,


several OS support several script languages....
To be able to give a detailed answer we need to know your details first.


Klaus

- - - Updated - - -

Hi,

A quick internet search showed that TeraTerm supports a script language (TTL = TeraTermLanguage).
Didn´t go deep thout the infromations, but it seems it can do what you want.

Just do an internet search on your own to find documentation and sample codes ...and everything else you need.

Klaus
 

joniengr

Full Member level 3
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
178
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
18
Activity points
1,589
Hi,

I have tired the following Macro code in TTL, it works.

Code:
pause 2

val = 0

; Repeat 5 times.
i = 5
do while i>0
    i = i - 1
  random val 100
  send 'ABC'
  pause 1
loop

exit
I am wondering how to mention carriage return line feed. I would like to start new line and cursor in the start of the line.
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
17,460
Helped
3,943
Reputation
7,884
Reaction score
3,813
Trophy points
113
Activity points
115,755
Hi,

what about using "sendln" instead of "send".
or try "strspecial"

I found them in the documentation...

There maybe are more suitable commands...

Klaus
 
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top