Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

tda7052a audio amplifier

Status
Not open for further replies.

musmusa

Newbie level 3
Joined
Oct 22, 2019
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
43
how do i determine the potentiometer value ? im doing a audio amplifier using tda07052a.

circuit.jpg
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
20,823
Helped
4,499
Reputation
9,010
Reaction score
4,565
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
137,477
Hi,

Every device has a datasheet. The datasheet tells you all you need to know to get the device working properly.

In your case: page8, Fig7.
Check wiring and value.

Klaus
 

Audioguru

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
9,293
Helped
2,143
Reputation
4,280
Reaction score
1,968
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Toronto area of Canada
Activity points
58,499
The TDA7052A is obsolete and is not made anymore. Its datasheet shows that it is always muted when pin 4 is grounded like in your schematic.
 

musmusa

Newbie level 3
Joined
Oct 22, 2019
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
43
Hi,

Every device has a datasheet. The datasheet tells you all you need to know to get the device working properly.

In your case: page8, Fig7.
Check wiring and value.

Klaus

So am i right to say that when i push the switch to 5v it will charge the transistor and u can change to voltage through the potentiometer for volume control and mute?
 

betwixt

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
15,217
Helped
4,958
Reputation
9,938
Reaction score
4,784
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
Activity points
129,216
First thing to check is whether you really have a controllable volume at all. There are three type of TDA7052, the original with no letter at the end does not have electronic volume control at all. SOME of the ones marked 'A' at the end have it, some do not. ALL the ones with a 'B' at the end do have volume control.
So am i right to say that when i push the switch to 5v it will charge the transistor and u can change to voltage through the potentiometer for volume control and mute?
If you are saying does biasing a transistor into conduction and wiring it in series with the volume control make that control work? The answer is yes but bear in mind that IC gives more volume when the voltage on pin 4 is higher. If you disconnect the bottom of the control it will go to maximum gain. If you intend to use the transistor to mute the audio, it should be wired across the volume control so it 'shorts it out' when the transistor conducts.

Brian.
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
20,823
Helped
4,499
Reputation
9,010
Reaction score
4,565
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
137,477
Hi,

So am i right to say that when i push the switch to 5v it will charge the transistor and u can change to voltage through the potentiometer for volume control and mute?
With your wrong wiring of the pot ... the pot is useless... you may turn it as you like, but it won´t change volume.

--> correct your circuit.

Klaus
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top