Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

tantalum capacitor footprint design help

Status
Not open for further replies.

alexan_e

Administrator
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
11,895
Helped
2,020
Reputation
4,156
Reaction score
2,031
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Greece
Activity points
64,377
the datasheet shows six different sizes (A,B,C,D,E,V), which one do you have?
And what is the software you are using?

Alex
 

yassin.kraouch

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Messages
631
Helped
40
Reputation
80
Reaction score
40
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
5,101
i am using proteus 7.7 and the part number is TR3D227K010C0150 ==> the size D
 

yassin.kraouch

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Messages
631
Helped
40
Reputation
80
Reaction score
40
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
5,101
the problem is i didn't find this footprint in proteus so i used another capacitor with the same case size, exactly i used this B76006D2279M040 found in proteus library, is what iam doing true ?
 

alexan_e

Administrator
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
11,895
Helped
2,020
Reputation
4,156
Reaction score
2,031
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Greece
Activity points
64,377
the component you chose is 336th length and 95mil width , your specification is 287x170 , the length is ok but you need wider pad

---------- Post added at 19:58 ---------- Previous post was at 19:53 ----------

No you are actually correct, the case is 170mil wide (W) but the pad is 95 (Tw) so it should fit fine
 

yassin.kraouch

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Messages
631
Helped
40
Reputation
80
Reaction score
40
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
5,101
ah ok thank you alexan_e, so i continue my design without dusing a footprint deisgned by myself ?
 

alexan_e

Administrator
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
11,895
Helped
2,020
Reputation
4,156
Reaction score
2,031
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Greece
Activity points
64,377
yes it is fine, the datasheet shown something like a pad in the center of the capacitor, what is it?
 

yassin.kraouch

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Messages
631
Helped
40
Reputation
80
Reaction score
40
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
5,101
The block in the middle of the terminations on the Bottom and Side views is a Glue pad which is part of the molded package. This is for people who might want to mount the parts on the bottom side of a board and glue it down to the board before reflow.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top