Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

switched capacitor sample and hold circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

pseudockb

Member level 5
Joined
Aug 4, 2004
Messages
89
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
908
holding capacitor sample and hold

Hi, I am designing a SC sample and hold circuit as shown in the following picture. When I used a large holding cap of 1pF, the output of the opamp takes a longer time to settle down at phase 1. Furthermore, the output during phase 2 seems to deviate more from the ideal sampled value. Could someone please explain to me? I have attached the simulation result for holding cap of 100f and 1pF. Thanks
 

sunking

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
May 25, 2004
Messages
874
Helped
70
Reputation
140
Reaction score
23
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
6,283
capacitor sample

the PM of opa is too small
 

    pseudockb

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
    V

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

philipwang

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
102
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Sz China
Activity points
2,161
Dear pseudockb,
1. As Sunking mentioned, your problem maybe comes from the lower phase margin of amp. ;
2. Advise to pay attention to the CMFB of the amp., you can adopt ideal CMFB and simulate the SC S/H circuit again to find whether the problem can be resolved.
Just try it!

Bg,
 

    pseudockb

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
    V

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

princerock

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
21
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,477
site:www.edaboard.com hold

Agree with sunking. check your phase margin first
 

    V

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

pseudockb

Member level 5
Joined
Aug 4, 2004
Messages
89
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
908
Thank you all for the valueable inputs!!

Another question from me again.
From what I see, the capacitive load that the OTA sees during phase 1 is just the capacitive load(CL) at the output node while at phase 2, the OTA sees a load which is a parallel combination of the holding capacitor (CH) and the capacitive load. Supposing now that CH needs to be 5pF to meet the sampling noise requirement and CL is 100fF, it seems hard to design a OTA that has sufficient phase margin and gain bandwidth product at both load conditions. Is there an OTA architecture that has a phase margin independent of the load condition or any other way to solve this? Thanks a lot.
 

    V

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

faninglee

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
8
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,354
if the offset of s/h circuit is very big, dc gain of OTA is a little small. at large,the gain is more 120DB.about you? at first PM(phase margin) of OTA must be sufficient.
 

    V

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top