Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Suggested preparation before applying to a MSc-PhD program

Status
Not open for further replies.

lagos.jl

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all! Maybe this post is a little out of context, but I would really like to enrich from the experience of all of you that have gone through this way before.
I have a BSc degree in EE and two years of experience in analog IC design. I'm planning to apply for a postgraduate program with the aim of obtaining a MsC and then a PhD in the field of high frequency IC design, beginning Fall 2008. I would be grateful if you could help me by giving your advice with regard to the following issues:

1. Since I have no previous experience in RFIC design, I would like to tackle now some implementation in order to enhance my resume prior to applying. Most application deadlines will be due by december 2007. Therfore, I would like to do something simple yet interesting enough to catch a little attention during the application screening process, something developable in an 8-month time frame (note that by simple I don't mean easy: I dig challenges, it's only that I don't have too much time). I am familiar with general RF and telecommunications theory, and I also have experience with EDA tools (Cadence, Tanner, Synopsys) and some knowledge of ADS and MW Office. I think I might also have the possibilty to go to fab, but is not really important to manufacture the design since it would take too long. The question is then: