Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Stuck at fault detection of a square pulse

Status
Not open for further replies.

tv123

Junior Member level 3
Junior Member level 3
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
162
Can anyboby explain how to detect stuck at faults in case of a square pulse in verilog?
 

harpv

Member level 4
Member level 4
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
71
Helped
19
Reputation
38
Reaction score
20
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,823
Can anyboby explain how to detect stuck at faults in case of a square pulse in verilog?

What do you mean by fault in square pulse ?

Stuck at faults are detected in a physical circuit and not in a waveform. Do you mean to ask, how to detect stuck at faults in a pulse generator circuit ?
 

tv123

Junior Member level 3
Junior Member level 3
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
162
I would like to modify the qn as to detect the loss of a pulse
 

harpv

Member level 4
Member level 4
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
71
Helped
19
Reputation
38
Reaction score
20
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,823
I would like to modify the qn as to detect the loss of a pulse

So you need a pulse detection circuit? Please look at this thread, maybe this is what you are looking for.

A simple google search could have easily popped this up. :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: tv123

    tv123

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

tv123

Junior Member level 3
Junior Member level 3
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
162
The situation is like, i have an input square pulse and have to detect the situations when it is lost and become low always or may become high always.
 

ads-ee

Super Moderator
Staff member
Advanced Member level 7
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
7,942
Helped
1,822
Reputation
3,654
Reaction score
1,807
Trophy points
1,393
Location
USA
Activity points
60,185
The situation is like, i have an input square pulse and have to detect the situations when it is lost and become low always or may become high always.

If the square pulse is a clock-like signal then use a faster clock and synchronize and edge detect the synchronized version, then have a timeout counter that resets each time an edge occurs. If the timeout counter saturates (i.e. all 1's) then the counter stops at the saturation count and the stuck detection goes active.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tv123

    tv123

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

D.A.(Tony)Stewart

Advanced Member level 7
Advanced Member level 7
Joined
Sep 26, 2007
Messages
7,254
Helped
1,742
Reputation
3,483
Reaction score
1,780
Trophy points
1,413
Location
Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
Activity points
52,761
The simplest solution to a missing pulse detector is a one shot that is retriggerable from the pulse itself set to the time interval expected or better, the pulse synchronized by a PLL clock which the missing pulse over +/-1/2 of the clock interval, with detection also on extra pulses a consideration.
 

tv123

Junior Member level 3
Junior Member level 3
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
162
If the square pulse is a clock-like signal then use a faster clock and synchronize and edge detect the synchronized version, then have a timeout counter that resets each time an edge occurs. If the timeout counter saturates (i.e. all 1's) then the counter stops at the saturation count and the stuck detection goes active.

Thank you so much. I came across this. Can you suggest me any other

- - - Updated - - -

The simplest solution to a missing pulse detector is a one shot that is retriggerable from the pulse itself set to the time interval expected or better, the pulse synchronized by a PLL clock which the missing pulse over +/-1/2 of the clock interval, with detection also on extra pulses a consideration.

instead of using 555 can i develop it by any other means because i need modelsim simulation for that
 

ads-ee

Super Moderator
Staff member
Advanced Member level 7
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
7,942
Helped
1,822
Reputation
3,654
Reaction score
1,807
Trophy points
1,393
Location
USA
Activity points
60,185
You're statements in post #8 seem to contradict each other:

instead of using 555 can i develop it by any other means because i need modelsim simulation for that
You don't want to use a 555 and wish to use modelsim to simulate the function.

Thank you so much. I came across this. Can you suggest me any other
I suggested a method to perform the action without a 555 and you ask for a different suggestion?

So what do you want? You seem to already know what you want, so describe exactly what you want, instead of some vague question (post #1) with no requirements or test cases to verify functionality.
 

tv123

Junior Member level 3
Junior Member level 3
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
162
You're statements in post #8 seem to contradict each other:

You don't want to use a 555 and wish to use modelsim to simulate the function.


I suggested a method to perform the action without a 555 and you ask for a different suggestion?

So what do you want? You seem to already know what you want, so describe exactly what you want, instead of some vague question (post #1) with no requirements or test cases to verify functionality.

Hi ads-ee, i got mixed up with the replies. i meant that i came across the approach that you described and i wanted to know whether there is any other method.
555 reply was for sunnyskyguy
 

ads-ee

Super Moderator
Staff member
Advanced Member level 7
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
7,942
Helped
1,822
Reputation
3,654
Reaction score
1,807
Trophy points
1,393
Location
USA
Activity points
60,185
The method I mentioned can be easily written in VHDL/Verilog and simulated in Modelsim. I've used circuits like this many times. I'm actually using one in some common library debounce code I wrote a number of years ago.
 

tv123

Junior Member level 3
Junior Member level 3
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
162
The method I mentioned can be easily written in VHDL/Verilog and simulated in Modelsim. I've used circuits like this many times. I'm actually using one in some common library debounce code I wrote a number of years ago.

Thank you for suggesting that method, can you suggest any other
 

ads-ee

Super Moderator
Staff member
Advanced Member level 7
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
7,942
Helped
1,822
Reputation
3,654
Reaction score
1,807
Trophy points
1,393
Location
USA
Activity points
60,185
Thank you for suggesting that method, can you suggest any other

Like what? You obviously are looking for something specific, so explain why the simplest solution is inadequate for what you are doing.
 

tv123

Junior Member level 3
Junior Member level 3
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
162
Like what? You obviously are looking for something specific, so explain why the simplest solution is inadequate for what you are doing.

i saw this method already in a paper so i wanted to replace it with any other better method (in terms of lesser area or power when synthesized), so that i can compare these two
 

ads-ee

Super Moderator
Staff member
Advanced Member level 7
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
7,942
Helped
1,822
Reputation
3,654
Reaction score
1,807
Trophy points
1,393
Location
USA
Activity points
60,185
i saw this method already in a paper so i wanted to replace it with any other better method (in terms of lesser area or power when synthesized), so that i can compare these two

Sounds like an academic research project...

I don't know of a better way to do it. I always prefer something that is easy to understand and is bug free than going with something convoluted/tricky/clever just for the sake of 1 nA power savings ;-)

If you can't use a counter then there isn't any other reliable way to determine if a given amount of time has passed with no pulse. Everything else ends up being "analog" or using digital delays in an analogish way (e.g. delay lines with LUTs).

Besides if you are doing research, then you should probably be coming up with a new method on your own (as opposed to asking someone to give you a new method). After coming up with that new method you'll have to prove it works better to convince people like me that produce fielded products.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tv123

    tv123

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

D.A.(Tony)Stewart

Advanced Member level 7
Advanced Member level 7
Joined
Sep 26, 2007
Messages
7,254
Helped
1,742
Reputation
3,483
Reaction score
1,780
Trophy points
1,413
Location
Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
Activity points
52,761
  • Like
Reactions: ads-ee

    ads-ee

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

ads-ee

Super Moderator
Staff member
Advanced Member level 7
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
7,942
Helped
1,822
Reputation
3,654
Reaction score
1,807
Trophy points
1,393
Location
USA
Activity points
60,185
in terms of lesser area or power when synthesized
i need modelsim simulation

I can think of a dozen ways to make a 1 shot and have never used a 555 in 40yrs.
How about a DM74123N vintage CMOS 1 shot, with a pot set to 1% or a logic state machine... Or ....
None of which will suffice in meeting the criteria set forth after a dozen posts, which are: "better" synthesis and modelsim simulation (i.e. VHDL/Verilog).

This is a good example of how a vague questions that doesn't give details of what the OP is actually looking to accomplish can run for many posts before something of substance actually comes out and also results in answers like SunnySkyguy's latest that don't match the requirements because it so darn hard to find those requirements in so many separate posts!
 

D.A.(Tony)Stewart

Advanced Member level 7
Advanced Member level 7
Joined
Sep 26, 2007
Messages
7,254
Helped
1,742
Reputation
3,483
Reaction score
1,780
Trophy points
1,413
Location
Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
Activity points
52,761
Yes original problem is vague with symptom only.

Try to give broader scope in future on post #1
Is it a metastable or missing pulse from a race condition?
Then re-sync critical path signal to master clock using FF to avoid race and missing pulse rather try to detect the fault with a shot shot.
 

tv123

Junior Member level 3
Junior Member level 3
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
162
I am really sorry for creating such a big confusion. I want to design a circuit to detect the attached waveform. I tried using two simultaneous counters and it is working fine. I wanted to know whether there is any other design so that i can do it in verilog hdl missing pulse.png
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top