Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Stripline coupler implementation problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

gzdeozc

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I am new at microwave coupler design. I have designed a stripline directional coupler using Momentum assuming that the upper and lower ground are perfect cover, it worked well on simulation environment. But when I implemented it, I put pads on top ground in order to measure S21, S31, etc.. So I used a transition from stripline to microstrip. But as you guess, it didn't work. The directivity is very bad, the loss is bad. I guess there is a problem with my transition. I put here gerber films and need your valuable comments.
Thank you in advance..

Coupler:
coupler_dsn.jpg

Top ground:
coupler_ust.jpg

As I observe, you're working at pretty high frequencies( few GHz or more) .If it's true, the distances between input/output pads and Bottom Layer GND are too close.You don't need to lay down GND everywhere on Bottom layer, just underneath of the coupler and around of the input/output lands with a reasonable distance.Vias may be problems,single via might be inductive for high frequencies.
There are somethings to be revised.

Popular errors in EM simulation of couplers: default settings used, without enabling edge mesh, and metal simulated as thin sheet without finite metal thickness. For couplers with narrow gaps, there is also an effect from the solder resist mask on directivity. This can be included in EM simulation if you know the thickness of the solder resist mask.