Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

stop simulation using modelsim .do file

Status
Not open for further replies.

syedshan

Advanced Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,

I am relatively new to writing script for modelsims I have loads of questions.
I know the basics of .do file and can start compilation and simulation using .do file.

1. Is it TCL language that we are wiritng as .do file
2. I want to write .do file such that after some time or certain condition, the file forces the simulation to stop
3. Also when I run the .do file, it first checks that either simulation is currently ON or not, if ON, then it closes that and then start again.

I looked but I cannot find. Note that I am using Xilinx ISE integrated with modelsim 6.5

1. Yes
2. Its a lot easier to do these checks inside your HDL testbench. For VHDL, the quickest and dirtiest way to stop a testbench is:

assert (not end_of_sim) report "Simulation finished!" severity failure;

Although the cleanest way is to stop all stimulus - ie. halt input processes and turn the clock off.

3. You cant really do that, because it will invoke VSIM.

oh...as I said there are loads of questions which ofcourse I will learn by doing and self-searching.
but few I am posting if you get time.

First of all, It was very silly of me to ask the question 1. since when we run the .do file we go thru tools->tcl->execute macro.
1. What I want to discuss is that tcl has extension of .tk then what is .do and how is tcl normal and tcl for mentor graphics vary.