Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Step-by-step PCB design procedure (and needed software)

Status
Not open for further replies.

truebs

Full Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello friends,
I am new to PCB designing ,can you tell me the step by step procedure to make my circuit on PCBs. ?

Also please answer my follwing :-

1.Which are the software tools i can use and how ?
2. Types of PCBs and how to decide which PCB to use ?

Thanks !!

orcad pcb designer basics

1. You can use Eagle PCB and Schematic Design software - almost used by majority of users here.

2. Depends in your location, as you've said Asia, there many countries in Asia :). I am using pre-sensitized PCB's for my layouts. I am in Asia too.

pcb basics

You have to figure out if you are going to make your own PCB's, or get a board house to do it. Chances are either way, you will be using FR4 for your PCB. There are free tools around, search for them. However, the best way to learn IMO is to start designing for yourself, and learn as you go. Make your own boards so you don't waste tons getting someone else to do it.

basics of pcb designing

Process: Schematic Drawing -> Export Netlist -> PCB Part Place -> PCB Routing -> Export Gilbert file.

It seems many people favour to use

OrCAD for sch dwg.
PowerPCB / Protel for PCB layout.

Added after 4 minutes:

The '*' sign stands for 'r' . The software is popular in use in China mainland.

The material I think is not really important for general use.

basics of pcb design