Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Starter Kit Recommendation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bojo

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm new to electronics and would like to learn more about microcontrollers for fun.

I bought an Arduino board earlier this year and enjoyed learning a little about programming and electronics from it.

I would like something that involves more detail about what happens within the microcontroller (not sure how to describe what I'm looking for...but using assembly language sounds interesting).

I read a post that mentioned a PIC based starter kit. Microchip.com seems to have a lot of options but I'm not sure what to get.

**broken link removed**

Could someone provide a link to a starter kit for under $200 that would be a good introduction to microcontrollers but more detailed than the Arduino?

I also came across NerdKits...NerdKits - Store

Thank you!

Hi,

Sure you will get several differing views on your question, but I'll open with my views.

The Arduino is geared up for its C++ and a bit surprised you have soon become bored with it.

I expect you could program it with Assembler but do not know what ide etc you need.

Microchips Pics cover a wide range from 8 to 32 bit, the problem is Pic24 and above, while having Assembler available they are generally considered C devices.
I know those Pic32 boards look so inviting !

The 10F 12F 16F and 18 F ranges are the ones to look at for Assembler, my persoanl choice being the 18Fs.

Mircochip have a good range of dev boards, have a look at their site.