Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Stable PWM during Voltage Loss

Status
Not open for further replies.

Seeker_IN

Newbie level 5
Joined
Feb 28, 2017
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
96
Refer the attached schematics, I have a system as below, controller runs at 200 kHz. I have a requirement of interruption at the controller voltage for 50 μs, still during that I need to have the PWM running. I have one option to have hold circuit for the controller to stabilize the voltage, to avoid the big Cap to be used. I thought of using PLL in between. But the PLLs duplicates the frequency! What could be considered ? any suggestions.

PWM_Stability.png
 

betwixt

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
14,184
Helped
4,685
Reputation
9,385
Reaction score
4,439
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
Activity points
121,137
You want the PWM to stay running when the power is removed?

That will never happen, your best option is to move the PWM source to the plant end where the power is always present and then send it instructions from the controller.
Bear in mind that without the controller running, even if you could "loop the last PWM waveform" it wouldn't be possible to change the on/off ratio.

Brian.
 

crutschow

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Feb 22, 2012
Messages
3,737
Helped
891
Reputation
1,780
Reaction score
869
Trophy points
1,393
Location
L.A. USA Zulu -8
Activity points
20,990
You'll need to use the big cap.

But, if the interruption is only for 50µs, the cap shouldn't need to be that large.
 

Easy peasy

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Aug 15, 2015
Messages
2,485
Helped
912
Reputation
1,824
Reaction score
907
Trophy points
113
Location
Melbourne
Activity points
14,033
Yes - a ckt that stores enough energy for operation for 50uS ride through ...
 

kripacharya

Banned
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
1,209
Helped
182
Reputation
360
Reaction score
175
Trophy points
1,343
Location
New Delhi
Activity points
0
It would be useful to know what exactly your 'plant' is. And how often you require this 50uS hiatus?

If your plant is a motor, then maybe loss of pwm drive for 50uS can be tolerated simply through inertia.
 

Seeker_IN

Newbie level 5
Joined
Feb 28, 2017
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
96
The Plant is DC converter and the hiatus would be of 50ms in fact, during the startup. I was trying to figure out some alternative, aiming to avoid hold up cap.
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
17,444
Helped
3,938
Reputation
7,874
Reaction score
3,812
Trophy points
113
Activity points
115,661
Hi,

Why do you say "big capacitor"? .. and what does it mean?
Physically big, or big capacitance value?
What are your requirements?

There is a relatively simple formula: delta_V = time × current / capacitance.
What are your input values?

Klaus
 

kripacharya

Banned
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
1,209
Helped
182
Reputation
360
Reaction score
175
Trophy points
1,343
Location
New Delhi
Activity points
0
The Plant is DC converter and the hiatus would be of 50ms in fact, during the startup. I was trying to figure out some alternative, aiming to avoid hold up cap.
Your descriptions are incomplete and inconsistent. Very difficult to provide any meaningful suggestions.
 

Seeker_IN

Newbie level 5
Joined
Feb 28, 2017
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
96
Let me be very specific then, Let's say i have a FPGA(controller)having 50ms of bootup time. generating PWM of 200KHz regulating a Buck plant.Now, the idea is, without using any Hold up ckt for the FPGA Power supply, if the Power supply for the FPGA gets interrupted due to 'change' in Power Supply source, happening only once the board is powered up How could i maintain the PWM for the 50ms, as if i use PLL, it would be able to lock the frequency not the pulse width?

@KlausST : It's the Capacitor size which for 50ms duration and 5 Amps of Current points to 50mF Cap. My priority is to have small form factor for my application using small SMD components. So, I am trying to think on the alternate lines.
 

kripacharya

Banned
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
1,209
Helped
182
Reputation
360
Reaction score
175
Trophy points
1,343
Location
New Delhi
Activity points
0
Clearly this is some specialised equipment which I do not understand (Buck plant?, 5amps?, unknown voltage?).

However the 'normal' way to bridge power outage would be by using a battery backup. LiPo is quite compact.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
46,966
Helped
13,929
Reputation
28,106
Reaction score
12,571
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
273,873
This sounds rather confused. Buffering the controller supply for 50 ms shouldn't be a problem, how 5 A and 50 mF come into play?
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
17,444
Helped
3,938
Reputation
7,874
Reaction score
3,812
Trophy points
113
Activity points
115,661
Hi,

I'm confused, too.
I also don't understand, why an FPGA comes into play...and boot time of it, and where the 5A are...

From post #1:
interruption at the controller voltage for 50 μs
...for this a 100uF capacitor should be well sufficient

Klaus
 

Easy peasy

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Aug 15, 2015
Messages
2,485
Helped
912
Reputation
1,824
Reaction score
907
Trophy points
113
Location
Melbourne
Activity points
14,033
having an intermediate stage which copies the gate drive PWM and keeps it going to the o/p when the input goes away - is a very unusual requirement - mainly because when you want to stop the plant it won't - it will keep going for at least 50mS - you will need to have a stop/reset signal for this intermediate stage, as well as the pwm input.

You could use a high speed pic ( or any uP with a PWM output section ) to look at the input pwm and re-create it on it o/p and hold it for 100mS say if the i/p goes low

You still need a local power supply for this intermediate section that can ride thru at least 100mS and then shut down ( or ramp down ) the pwm when the Vcc starts to fall,

a small PIC or other uP may only draw 10-20mA to do this ...
 

kripacharya

Banned
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
1,209
Helped
182
Reputation
360
Reaction score
175
Trophy points
1,343
Location
New Delhi
Activity points
0
This is turning out to be a very weird thread where nobody really knows what's going on.

I strongly recommend we shut it down until OP can give a meaningful requirememt/ specification
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top