Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

SRAM Understanding

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bjtpower_magic

Full Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi Folks,

I am new to the Microcontrollers and understanding FMC interfacing (Ram) to Microcontroller.
I have selected 512k (32k x 16) ram.

in the block diagram.. i understood the meaning 16 which is nothing but width of Data.

Here i can see 15 address lines (A0-A14).. I dont know why? what is the rational of using
and it is done as ROW Decoder (A0-A7) and Column decoder (A8-A14).. i did not understand it.

Can someone help me to understand the Basic behind this.

Regards,
Samuel

Hi,

Imagine each memory cell as a box.
Lets say you have 32 boxes.
Now put the 32 boxes on the floor an place them next to each other.
Now you can use 4 rows with 8 boxes each ( giving 32 in total)
For the 4 rows you need 2 binary signals (address lines) to be decoded ( 2^2 = 4)
For the 8 columns you need 3 signals (2^3=8)

In the end it does not matter how your SRAM cells are arranged: for 32k cells you need 15 address lines. 2^15 = 32768 = 32k

Klaus

Hi Klaus,
I was checking few datasheets where i have observed BHE(Byte High Enable) and BLE(Byte Low Enable)..

What is the purpose of those? why we need those.. If we want to read or write data we can read all 16bits (D0-D15)

Samuel.

I can't remember seeing those terms in memory specifications but they are quite common when referring to large scale processors.