Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Spiral inductor substrate and parameter info

Status
Not open for further replies.

pforpashya

Member level 2
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
42
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
जगा व जगू द्या
Activity points
1,609
Hi,

I am trying to design an amplifier whose center frequency is 60GHZ. Due to high frequency the C and L values are coming in fF and pH and thus not able to get correct results using lumped components.

Now I am thinking going for spiral inductors and interdigital capacitor or should I go for microstrip tx lines

Now while building smart component function for spiral inductor I had to specify some parameter values in mils

Anyone has any idea how do get these substrate info and its parameters in mils

Thanks

or should go for tx line approach
 
Last edited:

Romansh

Member level 3
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
58
Helped
21
Reputation
42
Reaction score
21
Trophy points
8
Activity points
341
Transmission lines are very narrow band, so if you need higher BW you should go with the LC circuit. Regarding the units, you didn't mentioned the software you are suing. In ADS you can change your project parameters from metric to imperial and visa versa or to convert it with calculator 1mm=39.37mil
 

pforpashya

Member level 2
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
42
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
जगा व जगू द्या
Activity points
1,609
Transmission lines are very narrow band, so if you need higher BW you should go with the LC circuit. Regarding the units, you didn't mentioned the software you are suing. In ADS you can change your project parameters from metric to imperial and visa versa or to convert it with calculator 1mm=39.37mil

yeah I am using ADS.

But which substrate to use ideally for bandwidth say 10GHz, Alumina?
I had designed one spiral inductor but not able to optimize it through design assistant to 0.1nH value, so I think I have to change substrate I guess?
 

Romansh

Member level 3
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
58
Helped
21
Reputation
42
Reaction score
21
Trophy points
8
Activity points
341
You can use any substrate you want as long as you satisfied with the Er and TanD of the material. It is all about trade-offs, if you want higher BW you should choose higher TanD, but then you will have more dielectric losses. Choosing higher Er will give you smaller structures, but then you will need a more fine manufacturing process.
 

ibrdmmache

Newbie level 6
Joined
May 6, 2010
Messages
13
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Morocco
Activity points
1,369
Hi to all

I used the substrate named "Silicon_example.slm" in Momentum ADS2009 and i want to design a spiral inductor for Rf circuits.

My probleme is about How I could do to change the parameters of the substrate(silicon_example) so that they are adapted to my values ​​(mju= 1.256e-6
Eox=3.45e-11
toxM1M2=1.3e-6
tox=4.5e-6
t=1e-6
sigma=1/(3e-8).).

You can find in attach the 10 figures explicative of steps for write and change the substrate.

Thanks for your help.

cordialy.
 

Attachments

  • define_substrate_figures.doc
    1.7 MB · Views: 22

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top