Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

SPICE Error - Inverter Simulation

Status
Not open for further replies.

EE00001

Newbie level 2
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Location
asdf
Activity points
14
I am trying to simulate an inverter that I extracted from L-Edit in PSPICE. When I try to simulate, I get an odd error. I cant find anything about it anywhere... Below is my netlist, any help is greatly appreciated.


Code:
.MODEL NMOS NMOS LEVEL=3 PHI=0.600000 TOX=2.1200E-08 XJ=0.200000U   
+TPG=1 VTO=0.7860 DELTA=6.9670E-01 LD=1.6470E-07 KP=9.6379E-05
+UO=591.7 THETA=8.1220E-02 RSH=8.5450E+01 GAMMA=0.5863
+NSUB=2.7470E+16 NFS=1.98E+12 VMAX=1.7330E+05 ETA=4.3680E-02
+KAPPA=1.3960E-01 CGDO=4.0241E-10 CGSO=4.0241E-10
+CGBO=3.6144E-10 CJ=3.8541E-04 MJ=1.1854 CJSW=1.3940E-10
+MJSW=0.125195 PB=0.800000

.MODEL PMOS PMOS LEVEL=3 PHI=0.600000 TOX=2.1200E-08 XJ=0.200000U 
+TPG=-1 VTO=-0.9056 DELTA=1.5200E+00 LD=2.2000E-08 KP=2.9352E-05
+UO=180.2 THETA=1.2480E-01 RSH=1.0470E+02 GAMMA=0.4863
+NSUB=1.8900E+16 NFS=3.46E+12 VMAX=3.7320E+05 ETA=1.6410E-01
+KAPPA=9.6940E+00 CGDO=5.3752E-11 CGSO=5.3752E-11
+CGBO=3.3650E-10 CJ=4.8447E-04 MJ=0.5027 CJSW=1.6457E-10
+MJSW=0.217168 PB=0.850000

Vdd 2 0 DC 5
GND 1 0 DC 0
------------$
[COLOR="#FF0000"]ERROR -- Missing gain/transconductance/transresistance[/COLOR]
IN 4 0 PULSE(0V 5V 4ns 0ns 0ns 10ns)

* NODE NAME ALIASES
*       1 = GND (-43.5,0.5)
*       2 = Vdd (-23.5,45)
*       3 = OUT (-27.5,21.5)
*       4 = IN (-32,1.5)


M1 OUT IN Vdd 0 PMOS L=2u W=6u AD=42p PD=26u AS=42p PS=26u 
* M1 DRAIN GATE SOURCE BULK (-33 30 -31 36) 
M2 OUT IN GND 0 NMOS L=2u W=5.5u AD=38.5p PD=25u AS=38.5p PS=25u 
* M2 DRAIN GATE SOURCE BULK (-33 8.5 -31 14) 

* Total Nodes: 6
* Total Elements: 2
* Extract Elapsed Time: 0 seconds

.TRAN 2ns 20ns
.PROBE
.END
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
47,491
Helped
14,051
Reputation
28,357
Reaction score
12,708
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
276,173
Code:
Vdd 2 0 DC 5
GND 1 0 DC 0
You probably start with learning SPICE syntax. Component type is identified by the first letter: Vdd is a independent voltage source (O.K.). GND is a controlled current source without transconductance specification.
 

EE00001

Newbie level 2
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Location
asdf
Activity points
14
Thanks for the reply. Even the sarcasm... My GND statement look identical to every GND statement I have found in similar examples. I am new to SPICE. Are you saying the "G" is defining a CCS? So all I have to do is rename GND to something that doesn't use a key letter? What would be appropriate? Please enlighten me with proper syntax.
 
Last edited:

keith1200rs

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
10,877
Helped
2,064
Reputation
4,128
Reaction score
1,597
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Yorkshire, UK
Activity points
57,276
Any device starting with the letter G is a voltage controlled current source - hence the error message. If you want it to be a voltage source it must start with the letter V so Vgnd would be OK. Or you could even use a resistor as you are only shorting node 1 to node 0.

Keith
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top