Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Spectre can do the noise analysis?

Status
Not open for further replies.

winsonpku

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jul 7, 2005
Messages
119
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
2,351
spectre noise analysis

As so many people said that hspice can't do the noise analysis of the fully differential amp,but i found that there is a .noise statement in the hspice manual,so what is the function of this statement.
And another question is that spectre can do the noise analysis of the fully differential amp?
 

tlihu

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jan 2, 2002
Messages
336
Helped
19
Reputation
42
Reaction score
13
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,258
noise analysis with spectre

I think what you need is an accurate noise model. The simulators should support noise analysis.
 

jlee

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 8, 2006
Messages
55
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,896
spectre ac analysis

SPICE can only do noise analysis on linear systems (including opamp), by the .noise system. For non-linear systems such as mixer, you can run spectre, by pnoise analysis.
 

winsonpku

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jul 7, 2005
Messages
119
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
2,351
spectre linear

tlihu said:
I think what you need is an accurate noise model. The simulators should support noise analysis.

Could you explain it in detail. Noise model is a seperate file or it's inclued in the process hspice model which is released by foundry.
And i didn't find the noise model information in hspice manual.
 

rfsystem

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Feb 25, 2002
Messages
914
Helped
148
Reputation
292
Reaction score
38
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Germany
Activity points
9,548
noise analysis using virtuoso spectre

There are small differences between HSpice and Spectre regarding the linear noise analysis.

1. Spectre could use a voltage difference between two nodes as a noise output.
2. Spectre could use a specific DC analysis or an arbitary transient point as operating point for the noise analysis.
 

    winsonpku

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

gigle

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
19
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,479
transient noise in spectre

Hspice can do noise analysis only in AC analysis.
Spectre can do that in both transient and AC analysis.
Actually Spectre is better for noise analysis.

You can use .noise only after .ac analysis in Hspice.
.noise analysis ouputs the total input or output referred noise as you point the input and output node.

Hspice CAN do noise analysis for fully differential amp in AC analysis.
 

    winsonpku

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

montage2000

Member level 1
Joined
Jan 7, 2006
Messages
39
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,584
noise analysis in spectre

both of them can do noise analysis
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top