Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

some questions about using CST MWS 5.0

Status
Not open for further replies.

sanders

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am a beginner of CST MWS, i have some questions about using CST MWS 5.0 :

1. I am simulating a bowtie antenna with a size of 228*182*50 mm, it is fed with coax cable,the cable's inner and outer radius are 0.44 and 1 mm respectively.In the simulation i encounted many problems and errors,it often ended with an error after a long time of simulation (about 5 hours),such as "the simulation seems to be unstable",thus i am afraid this antenna structure is out of capability of CST MWS 5.0 as the full size is too huge compared to the feeding cable, but i am not sure,any advice will be appreciated!

2 I know the boundary inside which the simulation will be executed can be obtained automaticly, but what can i do when i want to extend the boundary ,i think the way is to increase the lower/upper x/y/z distance in the "surrounding space" of "background properties", is that right?

3 how to refine the mesh manually in time solver of CST MWS 5.0 ?

That is all,thank you! Best regards!

Hi,

if your coax is very small compred to the rest of the strcture it might be better to use a discrete port. Your CST Version seems rather old. Any change to upgrade?

F.

Thank you! I will try to use a discrete port.The version i can only get is CST 5.0, i think it is all right.

Best regards!