Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Some basic questions about grounds on 1 and 2 layer pcbs

Status
Not open for further replies.

jasonc2

Full Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I have no real experience laying out pcbs and I have no specific project or requirements in mind these are general questions. The circuits I have in mind are analog circuits with signals of varying frequencies and a single common ground for all components and DC power. The general goal is to reduce external emi effects as well as internal noise. I realize some of these questions may not have simple answers, in which case references to good reading material would be greatly appreciated.

- For a single layer board its simpler to route it if I just draw a big copper rectangle for grounds and run all the power and signal traces through it. Is this the way to go or is there a reason to use "normal" traces for grounds instead?

For a 2-layer board with through-hole components on the "top" layer:
- Should the ground plane be on the bottom layer, or on the top with power/signal traces on the bottom?
- Is it better to run all power through the ground layer or on the signal layer?
- If I have to run a trace through the ground plane to route the board, should I choose a signal trace or a power trace?
- If I have to run a trace through the ground plane, are there any considerations related to making cuts in the ground plane re: creating bottlenecks in / increasing distance of the ground path through the plane?
- Is it preferred to use existing through holes instead of vias where possible?