Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

solid state relay question

Status
Not open for further replies.

eng_boody

Member level 3
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
57
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,754
hi all, can i use AC-output SSR to output DC , in fact i want a 12 volt to trigger 5volts
(rising age)..thanks
 

jiripolivka

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
May 21, 2010
Messages
2,832
Helped
831
Reputation
1,660
Reaction score
802
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Santa Barbara
Activity points
22,012
Some AC SSRs can be used for DC switching. Check specifications.

If you need to use 12V to trigger a 5V circuit, if both circuits have a common ground, use resistors to drop 12 to 5V. To be sure add a 5V Zener, or use a TTL comparator.
If there are separate grounds, use an optocoupler for best results.
 

eng_boody

Member level 3
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
57
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,754
can you also help me finding part number of DC-DC SSR , input >= 12 volts output >=5volts
 

jiripolivka

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
May 21, 2010
Messages
2,832
Helped
831
Reputation
1,660
Reaction score
802
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Santa Barbara
Activity points
22,012
What is your current rating- how much the 12 V source can make, and how much is the current load in 5V circuit?

I used PVG 612 "power" optocouplers, they need >3 mA primary current for the LED, and the secondary can hold up to 2A in 60 V circuit. Excellent devices, reliable to >110 deg.C
 

SunnySkyguy

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Sep 26, 2007
Messages
6,845
Helped
1,691
Reputation
3,380
Reaction score
1,661
Trophy points
1,413
Location
Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
Activity points
51,097
hi all, can i use AC-output SSR to output DC , in fact i want a 12 volt to trigger 5volts
(rising age)..thanks

Bridge is the term used to convert AC to DC or to invert DC to AC.
It can be diodes, transistors, SCR's, Triac's IGBT's or Opto SSR.
It can be 1 phase or 3 phase or N-phase.

It is incorrect to use the term "AC-output SSR to output DC"

You either have an AC input or AC output or both.AC input and output.
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
20,356
Helped
4,441
Reputation
8,891
Reaction score
4,468
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
134,577
Hi,

Also look for photomos relais.

Klaus
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top